SENATE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION NO. 77

SENATORS LONG, ALARIO, ALLAIN, APPEL, BARROW, BISHOP, BOUDREAUX, CARTER, CHABERT, CLAITOR, COLOMB, CORTEZ, DONAHUE, ERDEY, FANNIN, GATTI, HEWITT, JOHNS, LAFLEUR, LAMBERT, LUNEAU, MARTINY, MILKOVICH, MILLS, MIZELL, MORRELL, MORRISH, PEACOCK, PERRY, PETERSON, RISER, GARY SMITH, JOHN SMITH, TARVER, THOMPSON, WALSWORTH, WARD AND WHITE AND REPRESENTATIVES ABRAHAM, ABRAMSON, AMEDEE, ANDERS, ARMES, BACALA, BAGLEY, BAGNERIS, BARRAS, BERTHELOT, BILLIOT, BISHOP, BOUIE, BROADWATER, CHAD BROWN, TERRY BROWN, CARMODY, CARPENTER, GARY CARTER, ROBBY CARTER, STEVE CARTER, CHANEY, CONNICK, COUSSAN, COX, CREWS, CROMER, DANAHAY, DAVIS, DEVILLIER, DWIGHT, EDMONDS, EMERSON, FALCONER, FOIL, FRANKLIN, GAINES, GAROFALO, GISCLAIR, GLOVER, GUINN, HALL, JIMMY HARRIS, LANCE HARRIS, HAVARD, HAZEL, HENRY, HENSGENS, HILFERTY, HILL, HODGES, HOFFMANN, HOLLIS, HORTON, HOWARD, HUNTER, HUVAL, IVEY, JACKSON, JAMES, JEFFERSON, JENKINS, JOHNSON, JONES, JORDAN, NANCY LANDRY, TERRY LANDRY, LEBAS, LEGER, LEOPOLD, LYONS, MACK, MAGEE, MARCELLE, MARINO, MCFARLAND, MIGUEZ, DUSTIN MILLER, GREGORY MILLER, MORENO, JAY MORRIS, JIM MORRIS, NORTON, PEARSON, PIERRE, POPE, PRICE, PUGH, PYLANT, REYNOLDS, RICHARD, SCHEXNAYDER, SCHRODER, SEABAUGH, SHADOIN, SIMON, SMITH, STAGNI, STEFANSKI, STOKES, TALBOT, THIBAUT, THOMAS, WHITE AND ZERINGUE

A CONCURRENT RESOLUTION

To commend Judge Jimmy N. Dimos on his induction into the Louisiana Political Museum and Hall of Fame.

WHEREAS, the Louisiana Political Museum and Hall of Fame was created by an Act of the Louisiana Legislature in 1987, as a state museum dedicated to the preservation of the history of Louisiana politics; and

WHEREAS, the Hall of Fame Induction Banquet was held on Saturday, March 11, 2017, at the Louisiana Political Museum in Winnfield; and

WHEREAS, this year among the inductees was Judge Jimmy N. Dimos, a lifelong public servant and political legend; and

WHEREAS, he was born October 18, 1938, in the Republic of Macedonia and immigrated to the United States in 1951; and

WHEREAS, he graduated from Neville High School in Monroe in 1956, received his bachelor's degree from the University of Louisiana at Monroe in 1960, and garnered a degree from Tulane University Law School in 1963; and

SCR NO. 77 ENROLLED

WHEREAS, after graduation, he practiced law with the McKeithen, Mouser and Mckinley law firm, and later specialized in title insurance and real estate law during his distinguished forty-five year career; and

WHEREAS, before he entered the legislature, he served as the executive director of the Miss Louisiana Pageant in 1971 and 1972; and

WHEREAS, during his long and successful career he has been instrumental in protecting Louisianians and helping them lead a better quality of life, first serving as a state representative for District 16 in Ouachita Parish from 1975 to 1999, and then as a district judge in the Fourth Judicial District Court from 1999 to 2006; and

WHEREAS, he was known as a reformer during his twenty-four years in the legislature and was tapped by Governor Buddy Roemer as Speaker of the House in 1988; and

WHEREAS, he retired from the bench in 2006 and resumed his practice at Dimos Erskine, LLP; and

WHEREAS, he and his wife Dale Guilkey Dimos have four children, John, Laura, Myra, and Christy, and eight grandchildren; and

WHEREAS, his political legacy of honest and fair government and his efforts to help all of Louisiana's citizens have earned him a place among the many great politicos of Louisiana history.

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Legislature of Louisiana does hereby congratulate Judge Jimmy N. Dimos on his induction into the Louisiana Political Museum and Hall of Fame and does thank him for his many years of service and for helping the lives of many of our citizens.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that a copy of this Resolution be transmitted to Judge Jimmy N. Dimos.

PRESIDENT OF THE SENATE

SPEAKER OF THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES