BY SENATOR PERRY

A RESOLUTION

To commend the Abbeville High School Wildcats boys' powerlifting team on winning the Louisiana High School Athletic Association Division II state championship.

WHEREAS, the Louisiana High School Athletic Association (LHSAA) held its powerlifting championships March 17 through 18, 2017, at the Fant-Ewing Coliseum on the University of Louisiana at Monroe campus; and

WHEREAS, the Abbeville High School Wildcats boys' powerlifting team became the Division II state champions with fifty-nine points; and

WHEREAS, in addition to winning the state championship, the Wildcats also won the 2017 West Regional Powerlifting Meet and placed fourth at the 2017 High School Powerlifting Nationals competition in Scranton, Pennsylvania; and

WHEREAS, individual accomplishments in Class 114 include freshman Chuck Shuford being named state champion and placing second at the national competition, and senior Robert Hebert placing second at the state competition and third at nationals; and

WHEREAS, in Class 123, junior Timori Shipley was named state champion and placed third at nationals; and

WHEREAS, in Class 132, senior Zack Landry was named state champion and national champion, and junior Trevaun Walters placed fifth at the state competition; and

WHEREAS, in Class 148, junior Dante Citizen was named the state champion and placed fifth at nationals, and senior Travon Landry placed second at the state competition; and

WHEREAS, in Class 165, senior Jose Pedroza was named the state champion with a state squat record of six hundred ten and a total record of one thousand four hundred seventy, and placed third at nationals; and

WHEREAS, in Class 220, senior Alex Nguyen placed second and junior Andrew Nguyen placed third at the state competition; and

SR NO. 115 <u>ENROLLED</u>

WHEREAS, in Class 242, senior Montel Cormier placed second at the state competition and fourth at nationals; and

WHEREAS, the distinguished team performance of the entire Abbeville High School Wildcats boys' powerlifting team has earned them the Division II state championship title; and

WHEREAS, the amazing accomplishments of the team could not have been achieved without the guidance and skills of head coach, Travis Werner, and assistant coaches, Andrew Broussard, Rob Roy, Haley Baudoin, and Andrew Reiss, as well as all of the other individuals who have contributed to the success of the Abbeville High School Wildcats boys' powerlifting program.

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Senate of the Legislature of Louisiana does hereby commend and congratulate each of the coaches and the extraordinary young men of the Abbeville High School Wildcats on their much deserved championship title and their fourth place finish at the national competition which were earned through teamwork, determination, and dedication to the sport of powerlifting.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that a copy of this Resolution be transmitted to the principal of Abbeville High School.

PRESIDENT OF THE SENATE