RESUME DIGEST
ACT 289 (SB 135) 2017 Regular Session Lambert

New law requires the deputy secretary of the Dept. of Public Safety and Corrections, public
safety services, to create and issue the "Blue Star Mothers" special prestige license plate.

New law provides for issuance of the plate to an applicant who is a Louisiana resident,
submits written evidence of motor vehicle ownership, and family relationship as the spouse,
sibling, parent, or child of a person serving or who has served in the armed forces of the
United States.

New law provides that "armed forces of the United States" means and includes persons
serving or who have served in the United States Army, Navy, Air Force, Marines, and Coast
Guard, including reservists, and members of the National Guard.

New law provides that an applicant shall submit proof of service and establish his family
relationship to the armed service member. Provides that proof of service includes a member's
military identification card, a member's DD214, a member's leave and earning statement, or
a letter from the member's unit commander on official letterhead describing the member's
status; further, provides that proof of family relationship includes a marriage license, a birth
certificate, or a signed and notarized affidavit from the service member attesting to the
applicant's family relationship.

New law provides that the plate is not transferable between motor vehicle owners and shall
be retained by applicant to whom the plate was issued if he should sell, trade, exchange, or
otherwise dispose of such vehicle.

New law requires the department to collect an annual royalty fee of $25 in addition to the
standard motor vehicle license tax and a $3.50 handling fee for each plate to be retained by

the department to offset a portion of administrative costs.

New law requires the department to forward the royalty monies collected to the Mothers of
Military Servicemen and Women/Blue Star Mothers of Louisiana, Chapter 1.

New law provides for adoption of rules and regulations necessary to implement its
provisions.

Effective January 1, 2018.

(Adds R.S. 47:463.192)



