SLS 18RS-1052

ORIGINAL

2018 Regular Session

SENATE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION NO. 40

BY SENATORS WALSWORTH, PETERSON AND THOMPSON AND REPRESENTATIVES JAY MORRIS AND SHADOIN

COMMENDATIONS. Commends the 2018 Prudential Spirit of Community Award winners.

1	A CONCURRENT RESOLUTION
2	To commend the 2018 Prudential Spirit of Community Award winners.
3	WHEREAS, the Louisiana Legislature is pleased to honor and congratulate the 2018
4	Prudential Spirit of Community Award winners in recognition of their praiseworthy and
5	exemplary work on behalf of the people of this state; and
6	WHEREAS, this prestigious accolade, presented by Prudential Financial, Inc. in
7	partnership with the National Association of Secondary School Principals, acknowledges
8	middle and high school volunteers across America who have demonstrated an extraordinary
9	commitment to their communities; and
10	WHEREAS, the Prudential Spirit of Community Award represents the largest youth
11	recognition program in the country in which the sole criteria is volunteer service; and
12	WHEREAS, two State Honorees, one middle and one high school student, plus a
13	select number of Distinguished Finalists from each state were selected based on criteria such
14	as personal initiative, effort, impact, and personal growth; and
15	WHEREAS, Olivia Cuthbert of Dubach and Joey Gouthiere of Shreveport were
16	named the 2018 State Honorees and will each receive one thousand dollars, silver
17	medallions, and an all-expense paid trip to Washington, D.C.; and
18	WHEREAS, Olivia Davis of Shreveport, Nikki Leali of New Orleans, Emmaline

SLS 18RS-1052

1	Miller of Lafayette, and Sunakshi Sharma of Monroe were named the 2018 Distinguished
2	Finalists and will receive bronze medallions for their accomplishment; and
3	WHEREAS, the strength of Louisiana depends on the hard work and dedication of
4	young people exemplified by the 2018 Prudential Spirit of Community Award winners, who
5	have used their talents and abilities for the common good, and demonstrated a devotion to
6	helping others; and
7	WHEREAS, the 2018 Prudential Spirit of Community Award winners have rightly
8	earned the respect and admiration of their fellow citizens.
9	THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Legislature of Louisiana does hereby
10	commend and congratulate the 2018 Prudential Spirit of Community Award winners.
11	BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that a copy of this Resolution be transmitted to
12	Olivia Cuthbert, Joey Gouthiere, Olivia Davis, Nikki Leali, Emmaline Miller, and
13	Sunakshi Sharma.

The original instrument and the following digest, which constitutes no part of the legislative instrument, were prepared by McHenry Lee.

SCR 40 Original

DIGEST 2018 Regular Session

Walsworth

Commends the 2018 Prudential Spirit of Community Award winners.