## **DIGEST**

The digest printed below was prepared by House Legislative Services. It constitutes no part of the legislative instrument. The keyword, one-liner, abstract, and digest do not constitute part of the law or proof or indicia of legislative intent. [R.S. 1:13(B) and 24:177(E)]

HB 812 Original

2018 Regular Session

Leopold

**Abstract:** Provides relative to the membership and quorum of the Louisiana Seafood Promotion and Marketing Board.

<u>Present law</u> creates the La. Seafood Promotion and Marketing Board consisting of 13 members appointed by the Lt. Governor as follows:

- (1) One member appointed from a list of three names submitted by members from Louisiana of the American Shrimp Processors Association.
- (2) One member appointed from a list of three names submitted by the Louisiana Oyster Dealers and Growers Association.
- One member appointed from a list of three names submitted by the Louisiana crawfish industry. The appointment shall rotate between a farmer, a harvester, and a processor.
- (4) One member appointed from a list of three names submitted by the Louisiana Oyster Task Force.
- (5) One member appointed from a list of three names submitted by the Louisiana Retailers Association and shall be a seafood buyer.
- (6) One member appointed from a list of three names submitted by the Louisiana Shrimp Association.
- (7) One member who represents the commercial saltwater finfish industry. The appointment shall rotate between a harvester and a processor.
- (8) One member appointed from a list of three names submitted by the Louisiana Restaurant Association.
- (9) One member who is a seafood processor.
- (10) One member appointed from a list of three names submitted by the Crab Task Force.
- (11) One member who represents the wild catfish industry. The appointment shall rotate between a farmer, a harvester, and a processor.
- (12) One member who is a marketing specialist.
- (13) One member who represents the alligator industry. The appointment shall rotate between a farmer, a harvester, and a processor.

The 14th member is designated to be the secretary of the Dept. of Culture, Recreation and Tourism or his designated representative.

<u>Proposed law</u> provides for 18 members of the board retaining <u>present law</u> and adding the following ex officio nonvoting members:

- (1) The secretary of the Dept. of Wildlife and Fisheries or his designated representative from the department staff.
- (2) The director of La. Sea Grant or his designated representative from the Sea Grant staff.
- (3) The commissioner of agriculture or his designated representative from the department staff.
- (4) The president of the La. Farm Bureau Federation or his designated representative.

<u>Present law</u> provides that eight members of the board constitutes a quorum. <u>Proposed law</u> provides that seven members of the board constitutes a quorum.

(Amends R.S. 56:578.2(A)(1) and (C))