2018 Regular Session

HOUSE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION NO. 37

BY REPRESENTATIVE POPE AND SENATOR ERDEY

COMMENDATIONS: Commends the Walker High School boys' basketball team, 2018 Louisiana High School Athletic Association Class 5A state champions

1	A CONCURRENT RESOLUTION
2	To commend the Walker High School boys' basketball team upon winning the 2018 Allstate
3	Sugar Bowl Louisiana High School Athletic Association Class 5A state
4	championship.
5	WHEREAS, on March 10, 2018, in the LHSAA Allstate Sugar Bowl Marsh Madness
6	Tournament in Burton Coliseum in Lake Charles, the Walker High School Wildcats battled
7	No. 3 seed Landry-Walker and ultimately denied their opponent a fourth state title in five
8	years while earning a first-ever state championship for Walker High School; in an overtime
9	thriller, Walker came from a 52-44 deficit with two minutes remaining in regulation on the
10	strength of its defense and outscored Landry-Walker 9-1 to send the game into the extra
11	period, during which they achieved the 62-57 overtime victory; and
12	WHEREAS, freshman Brian Thomas, who was named the game's Most Outstanding
13	Player, poured in 20 points, grabbed 8 rebounds, and made 8 of 11 free throws; he played
14	well throughout the season and helped his team finish the season with an overall wins-losses
15	record of 33-4 and 5-1 in the district; and
16	WHEREAS, special honors on the season were awarded to Jalen Cook, Jalen Perkins,
17	and Dalton Moore, who were named to the 4-5A All District team; Mr. Perkins also was
18	named District Defensive Most Valuable Player, named to the State All Tournament Team,
19	and elected by the Louisiana Sports Writers Association to the Louisiana 5A All State Team;
20	in addition, Mr. Cook, Mr. Perkins, and Mr. Moore were named along with teammate Brian
21	Thomas to the All Livingston Parish First Team; Mr. Thomas also was named to the State

1 All Tournament Team; Darius Hampton, who was named Parish Defensive Most Valuable

2 Player, was named to the All Livingston Parish Second Team; and

WHEREAS, the Walker Wildcats had not been to a basketball tournament since 1962
and became the first Livingston Parish boys' team to advance to a title game since rival
Springfield High School won in 1997; for the first time in the school's history, the Walker
Wildcats returned home victorious with the LHSAA basketball championship trophy in tow;
and

8 WHEREAS, under the leadership of Head Coach Anthony Schiro and his assistant 9 coaches, Eric Cook, Donnie Goodson, and Connor Locke, and with the support of Ke'Andre 10 Ventress, team manager, each member of the Walker boys' basketball team exerted the 11 energy and discipline necessary to become champions and is worthy of mention: seniors 12 Qaeshon Clark, Josh Cook, Le Davis, Darius Hampton, Jordan Hoggatt, Dalton Moore, and 13 Jalen Perkins; juniors Anthony Bell, Trenton Montgomery, Grahm Smith, and Calvin 14 Watson; sophomores Keondre Brown and Jalen Cook; and freshman Brian Thomas; and

WHEREAS, Coach Schiro has instilled an ethic of winning in these fine young men
and has demonstrated leadership and motivational skills that have led to success both on and
off the court for the Walker Wildcats; and

WHEREAS, it is appropriate to recognize the well-deserved title the Walker High School Wildcats have earned; to commend the team for the ability they have displayed, particularly at the most difficult level of competition; and to express sincere and heartfelt congratulations to team members and the coaching staff for the merits earned and the sportsmanship shown while achieving the highest state boys' basketball honor possible for Walker High School.

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Legislature of Louisiana does hereby commend and congratulate the athletes, coaches, and management staff of the Walker High School boys' basketball team for winning the 2018 Allstate Sugar Bowl Louisiana High School Athletic Association Class 5A state championship and completing a truly spectacular season; and does hereby recognize the team's outstanding performance and the pride and honor they have brought to their school and community.

1 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that a suitable copy of this Resolution be transmitted

2 to Head Coach Anthony Schiro.

DIGEST

The digest printed below was prepared by House Legislative Services. It constitutes no part of the legislative instrument. The keyword, one-liner, abstract, and digest do not constitute part of the law or proof or indicia of legislative intent. [R.S. 1:13(B) and 24:177(E)]

HCR 37 Original

2018 Regular Session

Pope

Commends the Walker High School boys' basketball team on winning the 2018 LHSAA Class 5A state championship.