2018 Regular Session

HOUSE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION NO. 84

BY REPRESENTATIVES DANAHAY, ABRAHAM, ABRAMSON, AMEDEE, ANDERS, ARMES, BACALA, BAGLEY, BAGNERIS, BARRAS, BERTHELOT, BILLIOT, BISHOP, BOUIE, BRASS, CHAD BROWN, TERRY BROWN, CARMODY, CARPENTER, GARY CARTER, ROBBY CARTER, STEVE CARTER, CHANEY, CONNICK, COUSSAN, COX, CREWS, CROMER, DAVIS, DEVILLIER, DUPLESSIS, DWIGHT, EDMONDS, EMERSON, FALCONER, FOIL, FRANKLIN, GAINES, GAROFALO, GISCLAIR, GLOVER, GUINN, HALL, JIMMY HARRIS, LANCE HARRIS, HAVARD, HAZEL, HENRY, HENSGENS, HILFERTY, HILL, HODGES, HOFFMANN, HOLLIS, HORTON, HOWARD, HUNTER, HUVAL, IVEY, JACKSON, JAMES, JEFFERSON, JENKINS, JOHNSON, JONES, JORDAN, NANCY LANDRY, TERRY LANDRY, LEBAS, LEGER, LEOPOLD, LYONS, MACK, MAGEE, MARCELLE, MARINO, MCFARLAND, MIGUEZ, DUSTIN MILLER, GREGORY MILLER, MORENO, JAY MORRIS, JIM MORRIS, MUSCARELLO, NORTON, PEARSON, PIERRE, POPE, PUGH, PYLANT, REYNOLDS, RICHARD, SCHEXNAYDER, SEABAUGH, SHADOIN, SIMON, SMITH, STAGNI, STEFANSKI, STOKES, TALBOT, THIBAUT, THOMAS, WHITE, WRIGHT, AND ZERINGUE AND SENATORS JOHNS, MORRISH, AND JOHN SMITH

A CONCURRENT RESOLUTION

To commend James C. "Jim" Beam for fifty years of journalistic coverage of the Legislature of Louisiana.

WHEREAS, James C. "Jim" Beam was born in Cameron, Louisiana, on October 7, 1933, and is a lifelong resident of Lake Charles, Louisiana; and

WHEREAS, Jim graduated from LaGrange High School in 1951; he earned a bachelor of arts in social studies from McNeese State University in 1955 and a master of arts in American history from Louisiana State University in 1962; and

WHEREAS, after graduating from McNeese State University, Jim served his country in the United States Army from 1955 to 1957 before returning home to teach in the Calcasieu Parish school system from 1958 to 1961; and

HCR NO. 84 ENROLLED

WHEREAS, in 1960, Mr. Beam began his long and distinguished career at the Lake Charles *American Press* as a part-time sports reporter, and he became a full-time reporter in 1961; and

WHEREAS, Mr. Beam became the city editor of the newspaper in 1965, and in 1968, he covered for the first time the state's legislative session, which he has been covering ever since; and

WHEREAS, from 1982 through 1992, Mr. Beam served as coexecutive editor of the newspaper, and from 1992 until 1999, he served as executive editor; and

WHEREAS, although officially retired from his position of editor since 1999, Mr. Beam continues to cover the Louisiana Legislature and write editorials for the *American Press*; and

WHEREAS, Jim has won numerous awards for his writing from the Louisiana Press Association, the Louisiana-Mississippi Associated Press, the Louisiana Medical Society, and others throughout the decades; and

WHEREAS, in 2000, Jim Beam was selected by the Advertising and Press Club to be the first "Lake Area Legend", was awarded the Hector San Miguel Memorial Award for Outstanding Achievement in Journalism in 2010, and was inducted into the Louisiana Political Hall of Fame in 2017; and

WHEREAS, in addition to political columns, Jim has also published several collections of work, including *Positively Beaming* and *A Matter of Trust*; and

WHEREAS, James "Jim" Beam brings pride to the Southwest Louisiana region as the first journalist from Southwest Louisiana to be inducted into the Louisiana Political Museum and Hall of Fame; and

WHEREAS, Jim Beam is an institution in Louisiana politics known for his steadfast commitment to the highest journalistic ideals, and he has earned the unceasing admiration of the citizens of the state of Louisiana, whose knowledge and understanding of Louisiana politics and culture have been enriched immeasurably by his singular talents and dedication.

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Legislature of Louisiana does hereby commend James C. "Jim" Beam, a native Louisianian and a preeminent and respected journalist, for providing journalistic coverage of the Louisiana Legislature for fifty years.

HCR NO. 84 ENROLLED

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that a copy of this Resolution be transmitted to James C. Beam.

SPEAKER OF THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

PRESIDENT OF THE SENATE