RÉSUMÉ DIGEST

ACT 246 (SB 472)

2018 Regular Session

<u>New law</u> requires that the deputy secretary of the Department of Public Safety and Corrections (DPS&P), public safety services, create and issue the "Autism" special prestige license plate.

Provides for issuance of the plate to an applicant who is a Louisiana resident.

Requires that the department collect an annual royalty fee of \$25 in addition to the standard motor vehicle license tax and a \$3.50 handling fee for each plate to be retained by the department to offset a portion of administrative costs.

Requires the department to forward the royalty monies collected to the Autism Society-Louisiana State Chapter, Inc.

<u>New law</u> also requires that the deputy secretary of DPS&P, public safety services, create and issue the "Louisiana Motor Transport Association" special prestige license plate for use on any personal motor vehicle or commercial vehicle under 16,000 lbs which does not require apportioned plates as established by the International Registration Plan.

Requires that the secretary work in conjunction with the executive director of the La. Motor Transport Association, Inc. to select the color and design of the plate, provided it is in compliance with <u>prior law</u> and authorizes the plate to be issued, upon application, to any citizen of La. in the same manner as any other motor vehicle license plate.

Requires that the department collect an annual royalty fee of \$25 in addition to the standard motor vehicle license tax and a \$3.50 handling fee for each plate to be retained by the department to offset a portion of administrative costs and specifies that the royalty fee collected by the department be forwarded to the La. Motor Transport Association, Education Foundation.

Provides for the adoption of rules and regulations necessary to implement its provisions.

Effective January 1, 2019.

(Adds R.S. 47:463.196 and 463.197)