HLS 182ES-70 ORIGINAL

2018 Second Extraordinary Session

HOUSE RESOLUTION NO. 20

1

BY REPRESENTATIVE CHANEY

COMMENDATIONS: Commends the Rayville High School boys' basketball team on winning the 2018 Allstate Sugar Bowl Louisiana High School Athletic Association Class 2A state championship

A RESOLUTION

2	To commend the Rayville High School boys' basketball team on winning the 2018 Allstate
3	Sugar Bowl Louisiana High School Athletic Association Class 2A state
4	championship.
5	WHEREAS, it is appropriate to commend and congratulate the players and coaches
6	of the Rayville High School boys' basketball team for completing an undefeated 2017-2018
7	season, going 35-0 and winning the Class 2A state championship; and
8	WHEREAS, the Rayville High School Hornets defeated the North Caddo Rebels by
9	a score of 79-51 to clinch the championship title; and
10	WHEREAS, Zyquarious Cowart, Nashaun Ellis, Kameron Hunter, Christopher Jones,
11	Kashie Natt, Rashad Naylor, Ramaja Pleasant, Jalon Qualls, Samuel Sledge, Ja'Markus
12	Wilson, Ja'Michael Wilson, and Mylik Wilson all deserve recognition for their vital
13	contributions to the team's winning efforts; and
14	WHEREAS, it is appropriate to commend Mylik Wilson for being named the
15	championship game's Most Valuable Player with 25 points and 10 assists; and
16	WHEREAS, it is further appropriate to commend the championship game's other
17	double digit scorers, Nashaun Ellis, Rashad Naylor, and Ja'Markus Wilson; and
18	WHEREAS, the team's amazing feats could not have been achieved without the
19	unwavering dedication, support, and guidance of head coach Damon West and assistant

HLS 182ES-70 ORIGINAL HR NO. 20

1 coaches Ron Ellis and Antwuan James, as well as the passion of the many Hornet supporters

- who contribute to the success of the school's basketball program; and
- WHEREAS, the Rayville High School Hornets bring great honor and immense pride
- 4 to their school, the town of Rayville, and the state of Louisiana.
- 5 THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the House of Representatives of the
- 6 Legislature of Louisiana does hereby commend the Rayville High School boys' basketball
- 7 team on winning the 2018 Allstate Sugar Bowl Louisiana High School Athletic Association
- 8 Class 2A state championship; does hereby congratulate the players and coaches of the team
- 9 on an impressive and memorable season; and does hereby extend best wishes to everyone
- involved in this fine basketball program as they celebrate their successful season and prepare
- 11 for continued success in the future.
- BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that a copy of this Resolution be transmitted to
- Rayville High School principal Tommy Watson and head basketball coach Damon West.

DIGEST

The digest printed below was prepared by House Legislative Services. It constitutes no part of the legislative instrument. The keyword, one-liner, abstract, and digest do not constitute part of the law or proof or indicia of legislative intent. [R.S. 1:13(B) and 24:177(E)]

HR 20 Original

2018 Second Extraordinary Session

Chaney

Commends the Rayville High School boys' basketball team on winning the Class 2A state championship at the 2018 Allstate Sugar Bowl LHSAA tournament.