2018 Second Extraordinary Session

HOUSE RESOLUTION NO. 20

BY REPRESENTATIVE CHANEY

## A RESOLUTION

To commend the Rayville High School boys' basketball team on winning the 2018 Allstate

Sugar Bowl Louisiana High School Athletic Association Class 2A state championship.

WHEREAS, it is appropriate to commend and congratulate the players and coaches of the Rayville High School boys' basketball team for completing an undefeated 2017-2018 season, going 35-0 and winning the Class 2A state championship; and

WHEREAS, the Rayville High School Hornets defeated the North Caddo Rebels by a score of 79-51 to clinch the championship title; and

WHEREAS, Zyquarious Cowart, Nashaun Ellis, Kameron Hunter, Christopher Jones, Kashie Natt, Rashad Naylor, Ramaja Pleasant, Jalon Qualls, Samuel Sledge, Ja'Markus Wilson, Ja'Michael Wilson, and Mylik Wilson all deserve recognition for their vital contributions to the team's winning efforts; and

WHEREAS, it is appropriate to commend Mylik Wilson for being named the championship game's Most Valuable Player with 25 points and 10 assists; and

WHEREAS, it is further appropriate to commend the championship game's other double digit scorers, Nashaun Ellis, Rashad Naylor, and Ja'Markus Wilson; and

WHEREAS, the team's amazing feats could not have been achieved without the unwavering dedication, support, and guidance of head coach Damon West and assistant coaches Ron Ellis and Antwuan James, as well as the passion of the many Hornet supporters who contribute to the success of the school's basketball program; and

WHEREAS, the Rayville High School Hornets bring great honor and immense pride to their school, the town of Rayville, and the state of Louisiana.

HR NO. 20 ENROLLED

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the House of Representatives of the Legislature of Louisiana does hereby commend the Rayville High School boys' basketball team on winning the 2018 Allstate Sugar Bowl Louisiana High School Athletic Association Class 2A state championship; does hereby congratulate the players and coaches of the team on an impressive and memorable season; and does hereby extend best wishes to everyone involved in this fine basketball program as they celebrate their successful season and prepare for continued success in the future.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that a copy of this Resolution be transmitted to Rayville High School principal Tommy Watson and head basketball coach Damon West.

SPEAKER OF THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES