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Provides relative to the licensing of free standing birth centers

Proposed law authorizes the Louisiana Department of Health to promulgate rules for the licensing of free standing birth

centers. Proposed law defines a free standing birth center, and provides for licensing fees (initial and renewal) of free
standing birth centers.

Proposed law requires LDH to perform an onsite survey and inspection of the free standing birth center facility following the
receipt of a completed initial licensing application and and the licensing fee.

Proposed law provides for penalties for any facility or center operating without a license.

EXPENDITURES 2019-20 2020-21 2021-22 2022-23 2023-24 5 -YEAR TOTAL
State Gen. Fd. $0 $0 $0 $0 $0 $0
Agy. Self-Gen. SEE BELOW SEE BELOW SEE BELOW SEE BELOW SEE BELOW

Ded./Other $0 $0 $0 $0 $0 $0
Federal Funds $0 $0 $0 $0 $0 $0
Local Funds $0 $0 $0 $0 $0 $0
Annual Total

REVENUES 2019-20 2020-21 2021-22 2022-23 2023-24 5 -YEAR TOTAL
State Gen. Fd. $0 $0 $0 $0 $0 $0
Agy. Self-Gen. $1,800 $1,800 $1,800 $1,800 $1,800 $9,000
Ded./Other $0 $0 $0 $0 $0 $0
Federal Funds $0 $0 $0 $0 $0 $0
Local Funds $0 $0 $0 $0 $0 $0
Annual Total $1,800 $1,800 $1,800 $1,800 $1,800 $9,000

EXPENDITURE EXPLANATION

The Louisiana Department of Health indicates there are three (3) existing free standing birth centers. Additional
administrative functions associated with processing license applications is anticipated to be covered with with existing staff.
Operational expenses associated with travel to perform on-site facility surveys and inspections is anticipated to be nominal,
and anticipated to be covered with revenues generated through initial and renewal licensing of such facilities.

REVENUE EXPLANATION

Based on the current number of free standing birth centers (FSBC's) in the state and a $600 licensing fee, the department
projects generating and additional $1,800 annually through initial licensing and licensing renewal fees.

Note: Proposed law provides for financial penalties on FSBC's if operating without a license. Any center or facility operating
without a license shall be charged with a misdemeanor, and upon conviction, subject to fines of not less than $250 and
$1,000 each day in violation.
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