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Provides relative to costs of expungement of a record

Proposed law adds to present law “if an applicant for an expungement of a record includes two or more offenses arising out
of the same arrest, including misdemeanors, felonies, or both, the applicant shall be required to pay only one fee as
provided for by this Article.” Proposed law retains the cost of expungement under present law the total cost to obtain a court
order expunding a record shall not exceed five hundred fifty dollars per the Code of Criminal Procedure Article 983.

EXPENDITURES 2019-20 2020-21 2021-22 2022-23 2023-24 5 -YEAR TOTAL
State Gen. Fd. $0 $0 $0 $0 $0 $0
Agy. Self-Gen. $0 $0 $0 $0 $0 $0
Ded./Other $0 $0 $0 $0 $0 $0
Federal Funds $0 $0 $0 $0 $0 $0
Local Funds $0 $0 $0 $0 $0 $0
Annual Total $0 $0 $0 $0 $0 $0
REVENUES 2019-20 2020-21 2021-22 2022-23 2023-24 5 -YEAR TOTAL

State Gen. Fd. $0 $0 $0 $0 $0 $0
Agy. Self-Gen. $0 $0 $0 $0 $0 $0
Ded./Other $0 $0 $0 $0 $0 $0
Federal Funds $0 $0 $0 $0 $0 $0
Local Funds $0 $0 $0 $0 $0 $0
Annual Total $0 $0 $0 $0 $0 $0

EXPENDITURE EXPLANATION

There is no anticipated direct material effect on governmental expenditures as a result of this measure. Proposed law creates
no expenditure impact because it does not change the number of expungements.

The Louisiana District Attorneys Association reports that the DAs are already processing expungements under present law
and no new duties would be added.

REVENUE EXPLANATION
There is no anticipated direct material effect on governmental revenues as a result of this measure.

NOTE: Public Safety Services charges a $250 fee for expungement of a record. If there are multiple charges related to the
same arrest, only one $250 fee is currently being charged.

The Louisiana Clerks of Court Association reports that there should be no additional income or loss of income because the

current law only provides for the expungement of an arrest regardless of the number of charges that arise from that
particular arrest.

The Louisiana District Attorneys Association reports that the DAs receive $50 of the expungement fee.
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