CONFERENCE COMMITTEE REPORT

SB 190 2019 Regular Session Chabert

June 6, 2019

To the Honorable President and Members of the Senate and to the Honorable Speaker and Members of the House of Representatives.

Ladies and Gentlemen:

We, the conferees appointed to confer over the disagreement between the two houses concerning Senate Bill No. 190 by Senator Chabert, recommend the following concerning the Reengrossed bill:

- 1. That the House Committee Amendment No. 3 proposed by the House Committee on Natural Resources and Environment and adopted by the House of Representatives on May 20, 2019, be adopted.
- 2. That the House Committee Amendments No. 1, 2, and 4 proposed by the House Committee on Natural Resources and Environment and adopted by the House of Representatives on May 20, 2019, be rejected.
- 3. That the House Floor Amendment No. 1 proposed by Representative Zeringue and adopted by the House of Representatives on May 29, 2019, be adopted.
- 4. That the House Floor Amendments No. 2 and 3 proposed by Representative Zeringue and adopted by the House of Representatives on May 29, 2019, be rejected.
- 5. That the following amendments to the reengrossed bill be adopted:

AMENDMENT NO. 1

On page 1, line 2, change "49:214.5.1" to "49:214.5.1(B)(10) and (15) and (C), and to enact R.S. 49:214.5.1(D)"

AMENDMENT NO. 2

On page 1, line 6, after "Section 1." delete the remainder of the line and insert the following:

"R.S. 49:214.5.1(B)(10) and (15) and (C) are hereby amended and reenacted and R.S. 49:214.5.1(D) is hereby enacted to read as follows:"

AMENDMENT NO. 3

On page 1, delete lines 15 through 17, delete page 2, and insert the following:

(10) Seven Eight members who shall be appointed by the governor, in consultation with the Police Jury Association of Louisiana and the Association of Levee Boards of Louisiana, from nominations submitted by levee districts located in whole or in part in the coastal area, from legislators who represent districts in whole or in part in the coastal area, and from parish governing authorities located in whole or in part in the coastal area. The appointees shall be residents of the coastal area and shall be appointed on a proportional basis in such a manner as to reflect the population and land area of the parishes located in whole or in part in the coastal area. However, there shall be at least two appointees who reside in the area of the coastal area located west of the Atchafalaya River and at least two appointees who reside in the area of the coastal area located east of the Atchafalaya River. There shall be at least one appointee who is a resident from each of the

following hydrologic basins established by the Coastal Wetlands Planning, Protection, and Restoration Act, 16 U.S.C. 3951 et seq:

- (a) Pontchartrain Basin.
- (b) Breton Sound or Mississippi Delta Basins.
- (c) Baratarian Basin.
- (d) Terrebonne Basin.
- (e) Atchafalaya Basin.
- (f) Mermentau Basin or Teche/Vermilion Basin.
- (g) Calcasieu/Sabine Basin.

* * *!

AMENDMENT NO. 4

On page 3, delete lines 1 through 8

AMENDMENT NO. 5

On page 3, delete lines 17 through 21, and insert the following:

"Section 2. This Act shall become effective on January 13, 2020."

Respectfully submitted,	
Senators:	Representatives:
Senator Norby Chabert	Representative Jerome Zeringue
Senator Dan "Blade" Morrish	Representative Stuart Bishop
Senator Patrick Page Cortez	Representative Ryan Bourriaque

The legislative instrument and the following digest, which constitutes no part of the legislative instrument, were prepared by Alan Miller.

CONFERENCE COMMITTEE REPORT DIGEST

SB 190 2019 Regular Session Chabert

Keyword and summary of the bill as proposed by the Conference Committee

COASTAL PROTECT/RES AUTH. Provides with respect to the membership of the Coastal Protection and Restoration Authority Board. (1/13/20)

Report adopts House amendments to:

- 1. Remove provision of current law that is not amended by proposed law.
- 2. Change "a member" to "members" in the title of bill.

Report rejects House amendments which would have:

- 1. Deleted the requirement that all designees be employees of the respective state agency, department, or commission, or be members of the respective legislative entity.
- 2. Changed the membership requirements of the seven members appointed by the governor.

Report amends the bill to:

- 1. Remove the requirement that all designees be employees of the respective state agency, department, or commission, or be members of the respective legislative entity.
- 2. Change the number of members appointed by the governor <u>from</u> seven <u>to</u> eight.
- 3. Require each governor's appointee to be a resident of one of the hydrologic basins established by federal law.
- 4. Change the effective date <u>from</u> governor's signature <u>to</u> Jan. 13, 2020.

Digest of the bill as proposed by the Conference Committee

<u>Present law</u> provides for the Coastal Protection and Restoration Authority Board to be composed of the leadership of various state agencies, departments, commissions of the executive, and legislative branches of state government or their designees.

Proposed law adds the lieutenant governor or his designee to the board.

<u>Present law</u> provides that membership on the Board be composed of seven members appointed by the governor, in consultation with the Police Jury Association of Louisiana and the Association of Levee Boards of Louisiana, from nominations submitted by levee districts located in whole or in part in the coastal area, from legislators who represent districts in whole or in part in the coastal area, and from parish governing authorities located in whole or in part in the coastal area. Requires that they be residents of the coastal area and be appointed on a proportional basis in such a manner as to reflect the population and land area of the parishes located in whole or in part in the coastal area. Further requires that at least two appointees reside in the area of the coastal area located west of the Atchafalaya River

and at least two appointees reside in the area of the coastal area located east of the Atchafalaya River.

<u>Proposed law</u> increases <u>from</u> seven <u>to</u> eight the members who shall be appointed by the governor, in consultation with the Police Jury Association of Louisiana and the Association of Levee Boards of Louisiana, from nominations submitted by levee districts located in whole or in part in the coastal area, from legislators who represent districts in whole or in part in the coastal area, and from parish governing authorities located in whole or in part in the coastal area.

<u>Proposed law</u> removes the membership requirement that the appointees be residents of the coastal area and be appointed on a proportional basis. Further removes the requirement that two appointees reside west of the Atchafalaya River and two appointees reside east of the Atchafalaya River.

<u>Proposed law</u> requires that at least one appointee be a resident from each of the following hydrologic basins:

- (a) Pontchartrain Basin.
- (b) Breton Sound or Mississippi Delta Basins.
- (c) Baratarian Basin.
- (d) Terrebonne Basin.
- (e) Atchafalaya Basin.
- (f) Mermentau Basin or Teche/Vermilion Basin.
- (g) Calcasieu/Sabine Basin.

Effective on January 13, 2020.

(Amends R.S. 49:214.5.1(B)(10) and (15) and (C), adds R.S. 49:214.5.1(D))