## **RÉSUMÉ DIGEST**

## ACT 441 (SB 190)

## **2019 Regular Session**

Chabert

<u>Prior law</u> provided for the Coastal Protection and Restoration Authority Board to be composed of the leadership of various state agencies, departments, commissions of the executive, and legislative branches of state government or their designees.

<u>New law</u> adds the lieutenant governor or his designee to the board.

<u>Prior law</u> provided that membership on the Board be composed of seven members appointed by the governor, in consultation with the Police Jury Association of Louisiana and the Association of Levee Boards of Louisiana, from nominations submitted by levee districts located in whole or in part in the coastal area, from legislators who represent districts in whole or in part in the coastal area, and from parish governing authorities located in whole or in part in the coastal area. Required that they be residents of the coastal area and be appointed on a proportional basis in such a manner as to reflect the population and land area of the parishes located in whole or in part in the coastal area located west of the Atchafalaya River and at least two appointees reside in the area of the coastal area of the coastal area located east of the Atchafalaya River.

<u>New law</u> increases <u>from</u> seven <u>to</u> eight the members who shall be appointed by the governor, in consultation with the Police Jury Association of Louisiana and the Association of Levee Boards of Louisiana, from nominations submitted by levee districts located in whole or in part in the coastal area, from legislators who represent districts in whole or in part in the coastal area, and from parish governing authorities located in whole or in part in the coastal area.

<u>New law</u> removes the membership requirement that the appointees be residents of the coastal area and be appointed on a proportional basis. Further removes the requirement that two appointees reside west of the Atchafalaya River and two appointees reside east of the Atchafalaya River.

<u>New law</u> requires that at least one appointee be a resident from each of the following hydrologic basins:

- (1) Pontchartrain Basin.
- (2) Breton Sound or Mississippi Delta Basins.
- (3) Baratarian Basin.
- (4) Terrebonne Basin.
- (5) Atchafalaya Basin.
- (6) Mermentau Basin or Teche/Vermilion Basin.
- (7) Calcasieu/Sabine Basin.

Effective on January 13, 2020.

(Amends R.S. 49:214.5.1(B)(10) and (15) and (C), adds R.S. 49:214.5.1(D))