## RÉSUMÉ DIGEST

**ACT 422 (HB 208)** 

## 2019 Regular Session

**Brass** 

Existing law creates an educational facilities improvement district in the school districts in the parishes of Tangipahoa, Livingston, East Baton Rouge, West Baton Rouge, Webster, Jefferson, Lafayette, Sabine, DeSoto, Red River, Richland, Morehouse, Madison, Tensas, Natchitoches, Winn, East Carroll, West Carroll, LaSalle, Grant, Caldwell, Franklin, Ouachita, Bienville, and St. Landry and in the cities of Monroe and Baker. Authorizes the districts to levy a sales tax of not more than 1%, subject to voter approval, and to issue bonds secured by such tax, to aid school districts in acquisition, construction, and maintenance of facilities, property, and equipment.

New law creates such improvement districts in each school district statewide.

<u>New law</u> provides a 20-year maximum on the duration of the sales tax levied by such a district and authorizes renewal, subject to voter approval.

Existing law provides that such districts shall have boundaries coterminous with the school district. Provides for governance of such districts by a board of at least 5 directors (the number to be determined by the respective school board) and provides for the terms, selection of officers, domicile, and a place or places for meetings. Provides that directors shall serve without compensation but may receive reimbursement of expenses at a rate not to exceed the rate for state employees.

Effective August 1, 2019.

(Amends R.S. 33:2740.37(B)(1), (E), and (F))