RÉSUMÉ DIGEST

ACT 72 (HB 317)

2019 Regular Session

Howard

<u>New law</u> requires the secretary of the Dept. of Public Safety and Corrections to issue a special prestige license plate to be known as the "Louisiana REALTORS" license plate, provided there is a minimum of 1,000 applicants for such plate.

<u>New law</u> requires that the secretary work in conjunction with the La. REALTORS to select the color and design of the plate. Requires the design to include the words "Louisiana REALTORS".

<u>New law</u> specifies that the license plate be issued, upon application, to any member or affiliate of the La. REALTORS upon verifying membership in a manner that is mutually determined by the secretary and the board of directors of the La. REALTORS.

<u>New law</u> requires that the department collect an annual royalty fee of \$10 in addition to the standard motor vehicle license tax and a \$3.50 handling fee for each plate to be retained by the department to offset a portion of administrative costs.

<u>New law</u> requires the department to forward the royalty monies to the La. REALTORS Association Relief Fund.

<u>New law</u> requires the secretary promulgate and adopt rules and regulations to implement the provisions provided in <u>new law</u>.

<u>New law</u> requires the office of motor vehicles to create the special prestige plate provided for in <u>new law</u> when the applicable statutory provisions are met and their system is updated to accommodate new plates.

Effective Aug. 1, 2019.

(Adds R.S. 47:463.202)