SLS 20RS-166 ORIGINAL

2020 Regular Session

SENATE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION NO. 46

BY SENATOR CORTEZ

1

 $COMMENDATIONS.\ Commends \ the\ Louisiana\ State\ University\ football\ team\ on\ winning\ the\ 2019\ National\ Championship.$ 

A CONCURRENT RESOLUTION

| 2  | To commend and congratulate the Louisiana State University Fighting Tigers football team     |
|----|--|
| 3  | on winning the 2020 National Championship.   |
| 4  | WHEREAS, the Fighting Tigers of Louisiana State University (LSU) ended the 2019              |
| 5  | football season undefeated with a record of 15-0 and became the national champions on        |
| 6  | January 13, 2020, at the Mercedes-Benz Superdome in New Orleans, Louisiana; and              |
| 7  | WHEREAS, the championship game featured the top-seeded LSU Tigers from the                   |
| 8  | Southeastern Conference defeating the third seed Clemson University Tigers from the          |
| 9  | Atlantic Coast Conference by a score of 42–25; and   |
| 10 | WHEREAS, the win gave LSU their fourth national championship, but their first in             |
| 11 | the College Football Playoff era; and  |
| 12 | WHEREAS, the team, led by Head Coach Ed "Coach O" Orgeron, and quarterback                   |
| 13 | Joe Burrow, defeated each opponent skillfully and confirmed speculation from sports          |
| 14 | commentators that the 2019 LSU Tigers were the best team in the history of college football; |
| 15 | and  |
| 16 | WHEREAS, the regular season began with a win over Georgia Southern by a score                |
| 17 | of 55-3, and as the season progressed, the Tigers dominated each and every opponent; and     |
| 18 | WHEREAS, defeating top teams in the Southeastern Conference and other                        |

| 1  | conferences became commonplace as the team noned their skins on the gridiron and            |
|----|---|
| 2  | defeated their opponents week after week; and   |
| 3  | WHEREAS, the Tigers' opponents during the regular season were comprised of some             |
| 4  | of the best teams in collegiate football and included Georgia Southern, Texas, Northwestern |
| 5  | State, Vanderbilt, Utah State, Florida, Mississippi State, Auburn, Alabama, Ole Miss,       |
| 6  | Arkansas, and Texas A&M and   |
| 7  | WHEREAS, the SEC Championship game had the Tigers squaring off against the                  |
| 8  | University of Georgia Bulldogs, and after winning that game by a score of 37-10, they       |
| 9  | moved on to participate in one of the semifinal games in the College Football Playoffs, the |
| 10 | Chick-Fil-A Peach Bowl, to take on the University of Oklahoma Sooners, and defeated them    |
| 11 | by a score of 63-28; and  |
| 12 | WHEREAS, next up was the national championship against the number three ranked              |
| 13 | and defending champions, Clemson Tigers, and the LSU Tigers handled business and            |
| 14 | defeated them by a score of 42-25; and  |
| 15 | WHEREAS, several coaches and players received accolades and awards for their                |
| 16 | performances during the 2019 season, including Joe Burrow who received the Heisman          |
| 17 | Trophy, the Maxwell Award, the Walter Camp Award, the Davey O'Brien Award, the              |
| 18 | Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award, and the Manning Award, as well as being named AP            |
| 19 | Player of the Year, Sporting News Player of the Year, and SEC Offensive Player of the       |
| 20 | Year; and   |
| 21 | WHEREAS, "Coach O" received the AFCA Coach of the Year Award, the Eddie                     |
| 22 | Robinson Coach of the Year Award, the Walter Camp Coach of the Year Award, the Paul         |
| 23 | "Bear" Bryant Coach of the Year Award, and was named AP Coach of the Year, Home             |
| 24 | Depot Coach of the Year, and SEC Coach of the Year; and                                     |
| 25 | WHEREAS, wide receiver Ja'Marr Chase received the Fred Biletnikoff Award,                   |
| 26 | safety Grant Delpit received the Jim Thorpe Award, and cornerback Derek Stingley Jr. was    |
| 27 | named SEC Newcomer of the Year in recognition of their accomplishments during the 2019      |
| 28 | season; and   |
| 29 | WHEREAS, in addition to individual awards, the LSU offensive line received the              |
| 30 | Joe Moore Award for the most outstanding offensive line unit in college football; and       |

SLS 20RS-166 ORIGINAL SCR NO. 46

1 WHEREAS, passing game coordinator, Joe Brady, received the Broyles Award, 2 which is handed out to the best assistant coach in the nation; and 3 WHEREAS, the members of the LSU Fighting Tigers performed at the highest level 4 of athletic excellence throughout the season and each of them deserves recognition for their vital contribution to the winning effort; and 5 6 WHEREAS, Head Coach Ed "Coach O" Orgeron, the assistant coaches, and the 7 support staff instilled an ethic of winning and demonstrated the kind of leadership and 8 motivational skills needed to produce winners both on and off the field; and 9 WHEREAS, the Louisiana State University Fighting Tigers football team is 10 recognized for the well-deserved accolades earned throughout the season and showcasing 11 the extraordinary athletic abilities they have displayed, particularly at the most difficult level 12 of collegiate competition. THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Legislature of Louisiana does hereby 13 14 express its sincere congratulations to the Louisiana State University Fighting Tigers football 15 team, their coaches, and support staff for winning the 2019 national championship and for 16 the sportsmanship shown while achieving such high honors for themselves, the students, faculty, and fans, the city of Baton Rouge, and the state of Louisiana. 17 18 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that a copy of this Resolution be transmitted to the

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that a copy of this Resolution be transmitted to the president of Louisiana State University, Athletic Director Scott Woodward, and Head Coach Ed Orgeron.

The original instrument and the following digest, which constitutes no part of the legislative instrument, were prepared by Nancy Vicknair.

DIGEST 2020 Regular Session

SCR 46 Original

19

20

Cortez

Commends the Louisiana State University Fighting Tigers football team on winning the 2019 National Championship.