The original instrument and the following digest, which constitutes no part of the legislative instrument, were prepared by Jerry J. Guillot.

DIGEST 2020 Regular Session

White

Recreates the task force to study and make recommendations to the legislature on the advisability of creating a statewide business court to lower costs, enhance efficiency, and promote predictable

Provides that the task force shall consist of the following:

(1) The Senate president, or designee.

SR 36 Original

outcomes.

- (2) The president of the La. State Bar Association.
- (3) The president of La. Association of Business and Industry, or designee.
- (4) The president of Council for A Better La., or designee.
- (5) The president of Public Affairs Research Council of La., or designee.
- (6) The president of Greater New Orleans, Inc., or designee.
- (7) The chairman of the Senate Judiciary A Committee, or designee.
- (8) The chief justice of the La. Supreme Court, or designee.
- (9) The president of the La. District Judges Association, or designee.
- (10) The president of the La. Association for Justice, or designee.
- (11) The executive committee chair of the New Orleans Regional Black Chamber of Commerce, or designee.
- (12) The chancellor of Southern University Law Center, or designee.
- (13) The dean of Loyola University New Orleans College of Law, or designee.
- (14) The dean of Tulane Law School, or designee.
- (15) The dean of LSU Law Center, or designee.
- (16) The president of La. AFL-CIO, or designee.

- (17) The president of the La. Clerk of Courts Association, or designee.
- (18) The executive director of the La. Sheriff's Association, or designee.
- (19) The president of the La. Urban League, or designee.
- (20) The president of the Louisiana NAACP, or designee.

Provides that the members of the task force serve without compensation, except per diem or expense reimbursement to which they may be individually entitled as a member of their respective constituent organization.

Provides that the task force make a report to the Senate president by February 1, 2021.