2021 Regular Session

HOUSE RESOLUTION NO. 14

BY REPRESENTATIVE ECHOLS

A RESOLUTION

To commend the University of Louisiana at Monroe College of Pharmacy for its contributions to the state.

WHEREAS, the pharmacy school at Northeast Louisiana State College, as it was known at the time, was first approved by the Louisiana State Board of Education on August 11, 1956, to address the shortage of pharmacists in Louisiana; and

WHEREAS, the school was organized and began offering curriculum to students in September 1956; by 1959, the school had graduated twenty students and received full accreditation, making it the nation's youngest pharmacy school; and

WHEREAS, the growth of the pharmacy school coincided with the progress of Northeast Louisiana State College; on June 29, 1970, the college was recognized as a university, and in 1971, the pharmacy school moved into a newly constructed, modern facility; the new location of the pharmacy school was named Sugar Hall in honor of the late Monroe businessman and fervent supporter of the university, Leon Sugar; and

WHEREAS, after joining the University of Louisiana System on August 27, 1999, Northeast Louisiana State University formally changed its named to the University of Louisiana at Monroe; in 2005, the pharmacy school separated from the university's College of Health Sciences to form the College of Pharmacy; and

WHEREAS, the University of Louisiana at Monroe College of Pharmacy's curriculum has undergone a substantial evolution throughout the program's history; initially, the program graduated students with a four-year bachelor of science degree, and in 1966, a master of science degree program was added; by 1998, the Louisiana Board of Regents approved the doctor of pharmacy degree program as a replacement for the bachelor and master of science programs; and

WHEREAS, today, the University of Louisiana at Monroe College of Pharmacy is the only publicly supported center for pharmacy education and research in the state; in the past six academic years, the college has graduated over five-hundred students with a doctoral degree in pharmacy, and it is most deserving of the highest recognition for its service to the state of Louisiana and its efforts to combat the shortage of pharmacists.

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the House of Representatives of the Legislature of Louisiana does hereby commend the University of Louisiana at Monroe College of Pharmacy for its contributions to the state; does hereby record the College of Pharmacy's contributions to curing the pharmacist shortage in the state of Louisiana; and does hereby extend sincere hopes that the University of Louisiana at Monroe College of Pharmacy continues to produce capable and well-educated young pharmacists for many years to come.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that a copy of this Resolution be transmitted to the dean of the University of Louisiana at Monroe College of Pharmacy.

SPEAKER OF THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES