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Present law provides criminal penalties (a fine up to $300 and imprisoned for not more than 15 days, or both) for the first
conviction for the possession of marijuana when the offender possesses 14 grams or less. Proposed law amends present law
by adding that any conviction for the possession of marijuana of 14 grams or less be subject to the same penalty. Proposed
law provides that if an offender alleges indigency, the court shall use its discretion to find alternatives to full payment,
including installment payments or community service. Proposed law provides for enforcement by use of summons in lieu of
custodial arrest.

EXPENDITURES 2021-22 2022-23 2023-24 2024-25 2025-26 5 -YEAR TOTAL
State Gen. Fd. DECREASE DECREASE DECREASE DECREASE DECREASE

Agy. Self-Gen. $0 $0 $0 $0 $0 $0
Ded./Other $0 $0 $0 $0 $0 $0
Federal Funds $0 $0 $0 $0 $0 $0
Local Funds INCREASE INCREASE INCREASE INCREASE INCREASE

Annual Total

REVENUES 2021-22 2022-23 2023-24 2024-25 2025-26 5 -YEAR TOTAL
State Gen. Fd. $0 $0 $0 $0 $0 $0
Agy. Self-Gen. $0 $0 $0 $0 $0 $0
Ded./Other $0 $0 $0 $0 $0 $0
Federal Funds $0 $0 $0 $0 $0 $0
Local Funds DECREASE DECREASE DECREASE DECREASE DECREASE

Annual Total

EXPENDITURE EXPLANATION

There will be a decrease in SGF expenditures to the Department of Public Safety & Corrections - Corrections Services
(DPS&C) as a result of the proposed measure. Under present law, offenders convicted of the possession of marijuana on a
third or subsequent conviction are convicted of a felony and would be remanded to the custody of DPS&C. Under proposed
law, the possession of marijuana, 14 grams or less, is a misdemeanor for all convictions and those offenders will be
remanded to local jurisdictions. Therefore, DPS&C will experience a decrease to the extent persons are convicted on third or
subsequent offenses. A reduction in convictions could save DPS&C $26.39 per day per offender and $9,632 annually ($26.39
per day per offender x 365 days) for those in adult local housing; and $67.36 per day per offender and $24,586 annually
($67.36 per day per offender x 365 days) for those in a state facility. Local law enforcement agencies will realize an
indeterminable increase in expenditures to the extent offenders are convicted of a first or subsequent conviction under the
proposed law and are sentenced to not more than 15 days in jail.

Note: Under present law, R.S. 40:966(e)(i) and (f)(i), the possession of marijuana on a third or subsequent conviction is a
felony and offenders are remanded to the custody of the DPS&C. Subsections (e)(i) and (f)(i) are silent as to the weight of
marijuana in possession of the offender; and therefore, the LFO assumes that felony convictions under these subsections
occur regardless of the weight of marijuana in possession.

REVENUE EXPLANATION

There will be an indeterminable decrease in self-generated revenue to the District Attorney’s, the Louisiana Public Defender
Board, Clerk of Courts, Sheriff's Departments, and other local governmental entities as a result of the reduction of the fine of
not more than $300 for second and subsequent convictions.

For illustrative purposes, the Louisiana Commission on Law Enforcement (LCLE) reports there were 18,943 arrests for the
possession of marijuana under R.S. 40:966 in 2019. LCLE was unable to distinguish those arrests where the amount in
possession was 14 grams or less.
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