## 2021 Regular Session

## SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 96

BY SENATORS JOHNS AND FRED MILLS

## A RESOLUTION

To commend Carl W. Aron on fifty years of service to the Louisiana Board of Pharmacy.

WHEREAS, Carl W. Aron has been licensed as a pharmacist by the Louisiana Board of Pharmacy since 1962; and

WHEREAS, Carl W. Aron joined the family business in 1968, took ownership of the family business in 1971, and to the present date, continues to operate Aron's Pharmacy in Monroe, Louisiana; and

WHEREAS, Carl W. Aron was first appointed to the Louisiana Board of Pharmacy on April 8, 1971, by the Honorable John J. McKeithen, Governor of Louisiana, and has served on the board continuously since his first appointment in 1971; and

WHEREAS, in 1997, Carl W. Aron was first elected as president of the Louisiana Board of Pharmacy by his fellow board members, and he has been re-elected as president every year since 1997; and

WHEREAS, Carl W. Aron has received numerous awards for his service to the profession of pharmacy, including the Bowl of Hygeia Award for Community Service from the Louisiana Pharmacists Association in 1985 and the Meritorious Achievement Award from the College of Pharmacy at Northeast Louisiana University, now the University of Louisiana Monroe, in 1989; and WHEREAS, the Louisiana Board of Pharmacy is a member of the National Association of Boards of Pharmacy (NABP); Mr. Aron has been an active member of the NABP and has received numerous recognitions and awards from the NABP; Mr. Aron has ensured that NABP's pharmacist licensure examinations remain valid and effective through his service on their Advisory Committee on Examinations from 1999 through 2005, including service as committee chairman in 2004; NABP recognized the Louisiana Board of Pharmacy's activities in the aftermath of Hurricanes Katrina and Rita in 2005 under Mr. Aron's leadership; and during its 2006 annual meeting, NABP presented the Fred T. Mahaffey Award for outstanding contributions to the regulation of the practice of pharmacy to the Louisiana Board of Pharmacy; and

WHEREAS, at the 2006 annual meeting, NABP presented its highest honor, the Lester E. Hosto Distinguished Service Award, to Mr. Aron; and

WHEREAS, Mr. Aron served as chairman of the NABP Task Force on Emergency Preparedness, Response, and the United State Drug Distribution System in 2007; and

WHEREAS, during its 2013 annual meeting, NABP selected Mr. Aron as its honorary president; and

WHEREAS, the Louisiana Board of Pharmacy under the leadership of Mr. Aron developed and implemented the prescription monitoring program.

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Senate of the Legislature of Louisiana does hereby commend and congratulate Carl W. Aron on fifty years of service to the Louisiana Board of Pharmacy.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that a copy of this Resolution be transmitted to Carl W. Aron.

## PRESIDENT OF THE SENATE