SLS 21RS-2309 ORIGINAL

2021 Regular Session

SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 179

BY SENATOR POPE

1

COMMENDATIONS. Commends the Teacher of the Year from schools located in Senate District 13 on Teacher of the Year Day in the Louisiana Senate.

A RESOLUTION

2	To commend the Teacher of the Year from schools in Senate District 13 for exemplary and
3	dedicated service on Teacher of the Year Day in the Louisiana Senate.
4	WHEREAS, excellence in teaching is the result of commitment, dedication,
5	inspiration, patience, creativity, hard work, and the highest order of professional integrity;
6	and
7	WHEREAS, research clearly demonstrates that teachers are paramount to student
8	achievement and it has been estimated that a teacher has two to three times the impact of any
9	other school factor; and
10	WHEREAS, Teacher of the Year programs were created as a means to publicly
11	honor and recognize the critical role of instructional excellence in ensuring student success
12	in school and in life; and
13	WHEREAS, the outstanding educators named Teacher of the Year for schools
14	located in Senate District 13 are as follows:
15	Louis Sansovich, Albany High School
16	Lauren Gourney, Denham Springs Junior High School
17	Dana Baier, Eastside Elementary School
18	Rebecca Scivique, Albany Lower Elementary School

1	Kelli Satterfield, Albany Upper Elementary School
2	Stephanie Swindle, Denham Springs Elementary School
3	Amanda Robinson, Doyle Elementary School
4	Mandy Thomas, French Settlement Elementary School
5	Bette Jo Sibley, Freshwater Elementary School
6	Helena Olson, Gray's Creek Elementary School
7	Brittany Rigsby, Holden Elementary School
8	Kelly Price, Juban Parc Elementary School
9	Crystal Gaubert, Levi Milton Elementary School
10	Brandy Tullos, Lewis Vincent Elementary School
11	Aimee Martin, Live Oak Elementary School
12	Dana Perere, North Corbin Elementary School
13	Amanda Gann, North Live Oak Elementary School
14	Haley McDermitt, Northside Elementary School
15	Sherry Wentzel, Seventh Ward Elementary School
16	Eileen Jarman, South Fork Elementary School
17	Claire Miller, South Live Oak Elementary School
18	Kara Patterson, South Walker Elementary School
19	Joni Lexia, Springfield Elementary School
20	Leah Davis, Southside Elementary School
21	Carolyn Will, Walker Elementary School
22	Angela Detraz, Seventh Ward Elementary School
23	Josh Burton, Albany Middle School
24	Erik Willie, French Settlement Junior High School
25	Rachelle Taylor, Frost School
26	Suzette Rabalais, Juban Parc Junior High School
27	Christy Matthews, Live Oak Junior High School
28	Misty Reynerson, Live Oak Middle School
29	Jennifer Stewart, North Corbin Junior High School
30	Shelli DuRousseau, Southside Junior High School

SLS 21RS-2309 ORIGINAL SR NO. 179

I	Nicole Savage, Springfield Middle School
2	Melissa North, Westside Junior High School
3	Courtney Richoux, Denham Springs High School
4	Devin Dubois, Doyle High School
5	Michele Yawn, Live Oak High School
6	Shaunte' Kraft, Maurepas High School
7	Ellen Fort, Walker High School; and
8	WHEREAS, these exemplary educators are held in the highest regard by their
9	students, their colleagues, and their communities.
10	THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Senate of the Legislature of Louisiana
11	does hereby sincerely commend the Teacher of the Year from schools in Senate District 13
12	for exemplary and dedicated service on Teacher of the Year Day in the Louisiana Senate.
13	BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that a copy of this Resolution be transmitted to each
14	Teacher of the Year recognized herein.
	The original instrument and the following digest, which constitutes no part

of the legislative instrument, were prepared by Jerry J. Guillot.

DIGEST SR 179 Original 2021 Regular Session

Pope

Commends the Teacher of the Year from schools in Senate District 13 for exemplary and dedicated service on Teacher of the Year Day in the Louisiana Senate.