SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 179

BY SENATOR POPE

## A RESOLUTION

To commend the Teacher of the Year from schools in Senate District 13 for exemplary and dedicated service on Teacher of the Year Day in the Louisiana Senate.

WHEREAS, excellence in teaching is the result of commitment, dedication, inspiration, patience, creativity, hard work, and the highest order of professional integrity; and

WHEREAS, research clearly demonstrates that teachers are paramount to student achievement and it has been estimated that a teacher has two to three times the impact of any other school factor; and

WHEREAS, Teacher of the Year programs were created as a means to publicly honor and recognize the critical role of instructional excellence in ensuring student success in school and in life; and

WHEREAS, the outstanding educators named Teacher of the Year for schools located in Senate District 13 are as follows:

Louis Sansovich, Albany High School

Lauren Gourney, Denham Springs Junior High School

Dana Baier, Eastside Elementary School

Rebecca Scivique, Albany Lower Elementary School

Kelli Satterfield, Albany Upper Elementary School

Stephanie Swindle, Denham Springs Elementary School

Amanda Robinson, Doyle Elementary School

Mandy Thomas, French Settlement Elementary School

Bette Jo Sibley, Freshwater Elementary School

Helena Olson, Gray's Creek Elementary School

Brittany Rigsby, Holden Elementary School

SR NO. 179 <u>ENROLLED</u>

Kelly Price, Juban Parc Elementary School Crystal Gaubert, Levi Milton Elementary School Brandy Tullos, Lewis Vincent Elementary School Aimee Martin, Live Oak Elementary School Dana Perere, North Corbin Elementary School Amanda Gann, North Live Oak Elementary School Haley McDermitt, Northside Elementary School Sherry Wentzel, Seventh Ward Elementary School Eileen Jarman, South Fork Elementary School Claire Miller, South Live Oak Elementary School Kara Patterson, South Walker Elementary School Joni Lexia, Springfield Elementary School Leah Davis, Southside Elementary School Carolyn Will, Walker Elementary School Angela Detraz, Seventh Ward Elementary School Josh Burton, Albany Middle School Erik Willie, French Settlement Junior High School Rachelle Taylor, Frost School Suzette Rabalais, Juban Parc Junior High School Christy Matthews, Live Oak Junior High School Misty Reynerson, Live Oak Middle School Jennifer Stewart, North Corbin Junior High School Shelli DuRousseau, Southside Junior High School Nicole Savage, Springfield Middle School Melissa North, Westside Junior High School Courtney Richoux, Denham Springs High School Devin Dubois, Doyle High School Michele Yawn, Live Oak High School Shaunte' Kraft, Maurepas High School Ellen Fort, Walker High School; and

SR NO. 179 ENROLLED

WHEREAS, these exemplary educators are held in the highest regard by their students, their colleagues, and their communities.

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Senate of the Legislature of Louisiana does hereby sincerely commend the Teacher of the Year from schools in Senate District 13 for exemplary and dedicated service on Teacher of the Year Day in the Louisiana Senate.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that a copy of this Resolution be transmitted to each Teacher of the Year recognized herein.

PRESIDENT OF THE SENATE