## BY SENATOR HARRIS

## A RESOLUTION

To commend the Teacher of the Year from schools in Senate District 4 for exemplary and dedicated service on "Teacher of the Year Day" in the Louisiana Senate.

WHEREAS, excellence in teaching is the result of commitment, dedication, inspiration, patience, creativity, hard work, and the highest order of professional integrity; and

WHEREAS, research clearly demonstrates that teachers are paramount to student achievement and it has been estimated that a teacher has two to three times the impact of any other school factor; and

WHEREAS, Teacher of the Year programs were created as a means to publicly honor and recognize the critical role of instructional excellence in ensuring student success in school and in life; and

WHEREAS, the outstanding educators named Teacher of the Year for schools located in Senate District 4 are as follows:

Jay Weisman, Benjamin Franklin High School

Alexandra Mossing, Edward Hynes Charter School

Angela Goodly, Edward Hynes Charter School

Valkessha Marshall, Mary Bethune Elementary Literature/Technology School; and

WHEREAS, these exemplary educators are held in the highest regard by their students, their colleagues, and their communities.

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Senate of the Legislature of Louisiana does hereby sincerely commend the Teacher of the Year from schools in Senate District 4 for exemplary and dedicated service on "Teacher of the Year Day" in the Louisiana Senate.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that a copy of this Resolution be transmitted to each Teacher of the Year recognized herein.