BY SENATORS FIELDS, ALLAIN, BARROW, BERNARD, BOUDREAUX, BOUIE, CATHEY, CLOUD, CONNICK, CORTEZ, FESI, FOIL, HARRIS, HENRY, HENSGENS, HEWITT, JACKSON, LUNEAU, MCMATH, ROBERT MILLS, MORRIS, PEACOCK, PETERSON, POPE, PRICE, SMITH, TARVER, WARD AND WOMACK

## A CONCURRENT RESOLUTION

To commend the Southern University baseball team and coaching staff for winning the 2021 Southwestern Athletic Conference (SWAC) baseball tournament championship.

WHEREAS, on May 22, 2021, at Toyota Field in Madison, Alabama, the Southern University Jaguars defeated the undefeated Jackson State University, by a score of seven to six, to capture the 2021 SWAC baseball championship title and earn an automatic berth in a regional National Collegiate Athletic Association baseball championship tournament; and

WHEREAS, on their path to capturing the 2021 SWAC baseball championship title, the Southern University Jaguars outscored their opponents 53-20 in the tournament; and

WHEREAS, in the championship game of the SWAC tournament the Jaguars trailed the entire game before taking the lead in the last inning on a go ahead three-run homerun by O'Neill Burgos; and

WHEREAS, after taking a one run lead the Jaguars turned to Enrique Ozoa to close the game, where he picked up a save by retiring the next three batters and earning the Jaguars back-to-back conference titles; and

WHEREAS, the Southern University baseball team dominated the all-tournament team from the Southwestern Athletic Conference championship tournament with O'Neill Burgos being named as the most valuable player, and Zavier Moore, Isaiah Adams, Colton Frank and Enrique Ozoa, taking honors on the all-tournament team and first year interim coach Chris Crenshaw also claiming his first title.

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Legislature of Louisiana does hereby commend the Southern University baseball team for winning the 2021 Southwestern Athletic Conference baseball tournament championship.

SCR NO. 72 ENROLLED

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Legislature of Louisiana does hereby congratulate the coaching staff, support staff, and players of the Jaguar baseball team, Chris

Crenshaw, Daniel Dulin, T.J. Perkins, Trennis Grant, Kevin Vital, Nick Studdard, Calvin

Dejong, Jaylen Hughes, Isaiah Adams, Wilhelm Allen, Jaylen Armstrong, Joseph Battaglia

III, Jerome Bohannon II, Markaylon Boyd, O'Neill Burgos, Jerry Burkett II, James Caillouet,

Brendon Davis, Christian Davis, Jovante Dorris, Jonathan Evans, Colton Frank, Dimitri

Frank, Brandon Green, John Guienze, Austin Haensel, Jahli Hendricks, Markel Jordan,

Branden Lamback, Nick Luckett, Caleb Maloof, Dillen Miller, Zavier Moore, William

Nelson, Ryan Ollison, Enrique Ozoa, Mykel Page, Khristian Paul, Taj Porter, Daren Smith,

Quincy Smith II, Jacob Snyder, Tremaine Spears, Caleb Tart, Bubba Thompson, A.J. Walter,

Caleb Washington, and Judah Wilbur for their outstanding performance during the season.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that a copy of this Resolution be transmitted to the Southern University baseball team interim head coach, Chris Crenshaw.

PRESIDENT OF THE SENATE

SPEAKER OF THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES