2021 Regular Session

HOUSE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION NO. 117

BY REPRESENTATIVE PIERRE

A CONCURRENT RESOLUTION

To recognize and commend the Department of Transportation and Development on its centennial celebration of delivering a safe and innovative multimodal transportation and infrastructure system.

WHEREAS, it is with great pleasure that the members of the Louisiana Legislature have learned of the Department of Transportation and Development's one hundredth anniversary; and

WHEREAS, the Department of Transportation and Development has been and remains committed to moving projects forward that enhance economic development while maintaining safety and improving the efficiency of Louisiana's system; and

WHEREAS, the Department of Transportation and Development's commitment is evident by the many years of planning, designing, building, and sustaining infrastructure needs of Louisiana citizens with minimal use of resources; and

WHEREAS, the history of the Department of Transportation and Development has paved the way for a safe and reliable multimodal transportation and infrastructure system from 1921 to the present with the Louisiana Legislature board approval in 1898; and

WHEREAS, in 1898, the Board of State Engineers was established to create a uniform public road system; and

WHEREAS, in 1910, the state highway department was established; and

WHEREAS, in 1919, the budget of the state highway department was one hundred and forty thousand dollars; and

WHEREAS, in 1921, the legislature created the Louisiana Highway Commission as an independent state agency and approved ten maintenance districts; and WHEREAS, in 1922, the legislature passed a one-cent gas tax; and

WHEREAS, in 1926, the legislature deemed a two-cent gas tax inadequate and recommended a four-cent gas tax; and

WHEREAS, in 1930, the legislature approved bond insurance for highway and bridge construction; and

WHEREAS, in 1940, the Louisiana Department of Highways, formerly the Louisiana Highway Commission, was established under the leadership of the Board of Highways and a Director; and

WHEREAS, in 1948, the legislature increased the gas tax to nine-cent; and

WHEREAS, in 1953, the legislature diverted three-eighths of a cent of the state sales tax to secondary, gravel and shell, road improvements; and

WHEREAS, in 1956, President Dwight D. Eisenhower signed into law the Federal

Aid Highway Act of 1956 enacting the beginning of the Interstate Highway System; and

WHEREAS, in 1968, the legislature decreased the gas tax to eight-cent; and

WHEREAS, in 1976, the Department of Highways and Public Works was abolished and the legislature established the Louisiana Department of Transportation and Development; and

WHEREAS, in 1984, the legislature increased the gas tax to sixteen-cent; and

WHEREAS, in 1989, the legislature increased the gas tax to twenty-cent; and

WHEREAS, in 1998, the Department of Transportation and Development reorganized to its current configuration of five offices under the office of the secretary; and

WHEREAS, in 2000, the first traffic cameras were installed on Interstate 12 in Baton Rouge; and

WHEREAS, in 2006, the John Audubon Bridge construction was the first state design-build project; and

WHEREAS, in 2021, the Department of Transportation and Development celebrates one hundred years of delivering infrastructure; and

WHEREAS, in 2021, the cost to repair existing highways to adequate standards is fourteen billion eight million dollars; and

WHEREAS, in 2021, the current budget of the department is two billion and the gas tax remains at twenty-cent.

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Legislature of Louisiana does hereby recognize and commend the Louisiana Department of Transportation and Development on its centennial celebration and does express sincere appreciation for the many years of planning, designing, building, and sustaining infrastructure needs of Louisiana citizens.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that a copy of this Resolution be transmitted to the secretary of the Department of Transportation and Development.

SPEAKER OF THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

PRESIDENT OF THE SENATE