HOUSE SUMMARY OF SENATE AMENDMENTS

HB 691 2021 Regular Session Bacala

WILDLIFE/FEES: Provides relative to fee increases for the Department of Wildlife and Fisheries

Synopsis of Senate Amendments

- 1. Creates the Shrimp Development and Management Account.
- 2. Adds shrimp gear at present law rate.
- 3. Removes use of mullet strike net for special sea trout season.
- 4. Decreases purse seines/menhaden seines fees from \$3,000 to \$2,000.
- 5. Changes gill, trammel, and strike nets to other legal gear in category of finfish gear.
- 6. Decreases crawfish trap fee from \$50 to \$25 (present law rate).
- 7. Combines Wholesale/Retail Seafood Dealer License and Retail Seafood Licence.
- 8. Decreases Wholesale/Retail Seafood Dealer's License <u>from</u> \$625 <u>to</u> \$550 for residents and <u>from</u> \$3,000 <u>to</u> \$2,200 for nonresidents.
- Adds Ducks Unlimited as expenditure for Louisiana breeding habitat for La. Duck License, Stamp, and Print Fund.
- 10. Changes Lifetime License Endowment Trust Fund to an account within the Conservation Fund.
- 11. Adds the Pearl River to reciprocity provisions with Mississippi.
- 12. Changes validity term of recreational hunting and fishing licenses <u>from</u> June 1 through June 30 of the following year <u>to</u> 1 year from date of purchase.
- 13. Creates "Native-born" 10-day hunting/fishing license.
- 14. Increases Disabled/Special Needs licenses from \$2.50 to \$4.00.
- 15. Removes exemption for wild caught crawfish.
- 16. Changes phase-in of commercial fees to 50% on Nov. 15, 2021, and 50% on Nov. 15, 2023.
- 17. Repeals severance and excise taxes on skins by trappers, alligator hunters, and alligator farmers, on shipping or taking own catch out of state, and on oysters, fresh water mussels, clams, and shrimp.
- 18 Repeals the Derelict Crab Trap Removal Program Account.
- 19. Repeals the \$30 nonresident charter skiff license.
- 20. Removes examples of wholesale/retail seafood dealers.
- 21. Repeals retail seafood dealer's license and fee.
- 22. Repeals a limited transfer of net licenses applicable three years from 1995.
- 23. Repeals the Oyster Seed Ground Vessel Permit Appeals Board.
- 24. Repeals fees for promotion and protection of wild-caught shrimp.
- 25. Repeals mariculture and harvest of mariculture fish provisions.
- 26. Changes waterfowl habitat <u>from</u> Louisiana wintering grounds <u>to</u> breeding grounds.
- 27. Increases the wholesale out-of-state crab shipping license fee from \$100 to \$240.
- 28. Makes technical changes.

Digest of Bill as Finally Passed by Senate

Proposed law restructures the recreational fishing and hunting licenses as follows:

Present Resident Privilege	Cost	Proposed Resident Privilege	Cost
Res Hook and Line	\$2.50	Res Hook and Line	\$ 5.00
Res Basic Fishing Res Rec Wire Net (5) Res Rec Pipes/Drums (5) Res Rec Cans/Buckets (5) Res Hoop Nets (5) Res Rec Crawfish Traps (35) Res Rec Slat Traps (5) Res Rec Crab Traps	\$ 9.50 \$ 20.00 \$ 10.00 \$ 10.00 \$ 20.00 \$ 15.00 \$ 15.00	Res Basic Fishing	\$17.00
Res Saltwater Res Rec Trawl (to 16') Res Rec Oyster Tong Resident Rec Trawl (to 25')	\$ 13.00 \$ 25.00 \$ 5.00 \$ 80.00	Res Saltwater Fishing	\$15.00
R/NR Charter Passenger (3 day)	\$ 10.00	Res Charter (3 day) Saltwater Res Charter (3 day) Freshwater	
Res Basic Hunting Res Trapper-15 & older Res Trapper-14 & Under	\$ 15.00 \$ 25.00 \$ 5.00	Res Basic Hunt Res Youth	\$ 20.00 \$ 5.00
Res Big Game Res Bow Hunting Res Primitive Firearm	\$ 14.00 \$ 10.50 \$ 10.50	Res Deer	\$ 15.00
Res La Duck	\$ 5.50	Res Waterfowl	\$12.00
Res Big Game Res Wild Turkey	\$ 14.00 \$ 5.50	Res Wild Turkey	\$12.00
Res La Sportsman's Paradise	\$100.00	Res La Sportsman's Paradise	\$100.00
Res Senior Hunt/Fish (60 or older)	\$ 5.00	Res Senior/Retired Military H (65 or	Iunt/Fish older) \$20.00
Fish - Disabled Fish - Disabled Hunt - Disabled LA Disabled Fishing LA Disabled Saltwater Res Disabled Basic Hunting Res Disabled Big Game Res Disabled Bow Res Disabled Primitive Firearm Res/Native Ret. Military Hunt/Fish Res/Surv. Spouse Military KIA Fish Res/Surv. Spouse Military KIA Hunt		Disabled or Special Needs Hu Combo	unt/Fish \$ 4.00
Lifetime Resident Combo 14+ Lifetime Resident Hunting 14+ Lifetime Resident Fishing 14+ Lifetime Res. Crawfish Traps	\$500.00 \$300.00 \$300.00 \$150.00	Lifetime Resident Combo	\$500.00

SSHB691 3941 3971

		SSHB691	3941 3971
Lifetime Res. Crab Trap	\$100.00		
Lifetime Res. Slat Trap	\$200.00		
Lifetime Res. Trawl (to 16')	\$250.00		
Lifetime Res. Trawl (to 25')	\$800.00		
Lifetime Res. Oyster Tong	\$ 50.00		
Lifetime Res. Wire Net	\$200.00		
Lifetime Res. Pipes/Drums	\$100.00		
Lifetime Res. Cans/Buckets	\$100.00		
Lifetime Res. Hoop Nets	\$200.00		
Lifetime Resident Combo -14	\$300.00	Res Youth Lifetime	\$500.00
Lifetime Resident Hunting -14	\$200.00		
Lifetime Resident Fishing -14	\$200.00		
Lifetime Resident Infant H/F	\$200.00		
Lifetime Resident Senior	\$ 50.00	Res Senior Lifetime	\$100.00
Present Nonresident Privilege	Cost	Proposed NonResident Pri	vilegeCost
_			
NR Fish Season	\$ 60.00	NR Annual Basic Fishing	\$ 68.00
NR Rec Wire Nets (5)	\$ 80.00		
NR Rec Pipes/Drums (5)	\$ 40.00		
NR Rec Cans/Buckets (5)	\$ 40.00		
NR Rec Crawfish Traps (35)	\$ 60.00		
NR Rec Slat Traps (5)	\$ 80.00		
NR Hoop Nets (5)	\$ 80.00		
NR Rec Crab Traps (10)	\$ 60.00		
NR Saltwater Fish Season	\$ 30.00	NR Annual Saltwater Fishi	na\$ 60 00
NR Rec Trawl (to 16')	\$100.00	NK Amidai Saitwatei 1 isiii	ng# 00.00
NR Rec Oyster Tong	\$ 20.00		
NR Rec Trawl (to 25')	\$320.00		
NR Freshwater Fishing Trip (1 day)	\$ 5.00	NR 5-Day Basic Fishing	\$ 30.00
NR Saltwater Trip (1 day)	\$ 17.50	NR 5-Day Saltwater Fishin	g \$ 30.00
R/NR Charter Passenger (3 day)	\$ 10.00	NR Charter (3 day) Saltwar	ter \$20.00
NR Charter Skiff (3 day)	\$ 30.00	NR Charter (3 day) Freshw	
ND Handing Comm	¢150.00	ND A1 Danie Handine	#200 00
NR Hunting Season	\$150.00	NR Annual Basic Hunting	\$200.00
NR Trapper License	\$200.00		
NR Big Game Season	\$150.00	NR Annual Deer	\$100.00
NR Bow Hunting	\$ 26.00		-
NR Primitive Firearm	\$ 26.00		
NR Deer (1-day)	\$ 36.00	NR 5-Day Basic Hunt	\$ 65.00
LA Native NR Hunt (5 day)	\$ 15.00	,	
LA Native NR BG Game (5 day)	\$ 14.00		
LA Native NR Bow (5 day)	\$ 10.50	NR 5-Day Deer	\$ 35.00
LA Native NR Primitive (5 day)	\$ 10.50	1.110 2001	\$ 22.00
Erritative riterimitive (5 day)	Ψ 10.50		
NR LA Duck	\$ 25.00	NR Annual Waterfowl	\$ 50.00
NR Small Game/MigBird (1-day)	\$ 29.00	NR 5-Day Waterfowl	\$ 35.00
LA Native NR Duck (5 day)	\$ 5.50		
NR Big Game Season	\$150.00	NR Annual Wild Turkey	\$ 50.00
NR Wild Turkey	\$ 20.50	,	
ND Turkov (1. dov)	\$ 26.00	ND 5 Day Wild Tambers	¢ 25 00
NR Turkey (1-day)	\$ 36.00	NR 5-Day Wild Turkey	\$ 35.00
LA Native NR Turkey (5 day)	\$ 5.50		
NR Student Basic Fishing	\$ 9.50	Treated as Resident Licens	es
$\boldsymbol{\varepsilon}$			

me NR \$4,000	.00
nated	
Basic Access Permit \$ 201	00
· ·	.00
,	.00
	,

Present law provides for the Crab Promotion and Marketing Fund.

<u>Proposed law</u> renames the fund to the Crab Development, Management and Derelict Crab Trap Removal Account. Further creates the Oyster Resource Management Account, the Crawfish Development and Management Account, the Louisiana Duck License, Stamp, and Print Fund, the Louisiana Wild Turkey Fund, the Lifetime License Endowment Trust Account and the Louisiana Wildlife and Fisheries Foundation Escrow Account. Further provides for the disposition of monies.

<u>Proposed law</u> gives the secretary the discretion to dedicate half of the La. duck license, stamp, and print fund to the preservation of La. wintering grounds for migrating waterfowl.

<u>Proposed law</u> provides for hunting reciprocity with Mississippi to become operative when the state of Mississippi grants reciprocal privileges to the holders of hunting and fishing or angling licenses issued by the state of Louisiana.

<u>Proposed law</u> provides for turkey hunting reciprocity with neighboring states if the neighboring state has a similar wild turkey stamp or license requirement and fee.

Proposed law authorizes the establishment of a Nuisance Wildlife Control Operator Program.

Proposed law establishes or changes commercial fees as follows:

- (1) Hunting Guide license \$150 for residents, \$600 for nonresident.
- (2) Breeder's license from \$25 to \$50.
- (3) Alligator hunting & fur trapping <u>from</u> \$25 <u>to</u> \$40 for residents and <u>from</u> \$200 <u>to</u> \$160 for nonresidents.
- (4) Fur Buyer's license from \$25 to \$55 for residents and from \$100 to \$215 for

- nonresidents.
- (5) Fur Dealer's license <u>from</u> \$150 <u>to</u> \$400 for residents and <u>from</u> \$300 <u>to</u> \$800 for nonresidents and no deposit.
- (6) Nongame quadruped exhibitor license from \$10 to \$20.
- (7) Nongame quadruped breeder license <u>from</u> \$25 <u>to</u> \$50.
- (8) Alligator parts dealer license from \$50 to \$105.
- (9) Alligator parts retailer license <u>from</u> \$5 <u>to</u> \$10.
- (10) Resident charter boat fishing guide license <u>from</u> \$250 to \$150 (freshwater), \$300 for vessel with 6 passengers or less (saltwater), or \$700 for vessel with more than 6 passengers (saltwater).
- (11) Nonresident charter boat fishing guide license <u>from</u> \$1,000 <u>to</u> \$1,500 (saltwater), or \$500 (freshwater)
- (12) Commercial fisherman's license <u>from</u> \$55 <u>to</u> \$96 for residents and <u>from</u> \$460 <u>to</u> \$620 for nonresidents.
- (13) Resident senior commercial fishing license from \$20 to \$50.
- (14) Gulf Seafood Traversing & Offloading License \$75 for residents and \$800 for nonresidents.
- (15) Fresh products license <u>from</u> \$20 <u>to</u> \$61 for residents and <u>from</u> \$120 <u>to</u> \$300 for nonresidents.
- (16) Vessel license <u>from</u> \$15 <u>to</u> \$50 for the first vessel, \$35 for the second vessel, and \$20 for the third and subsequent vessel for residents; and <u>from</u> \$60 <u>to</u> \$400 for nonresidents.
- (17) Oyster gear license \$50 per tong/scraper.
- (18) Crab gear license \$40 for crab trap use.
- (19) Saltwater finfish gear license \$300 per mullet/pompano strike net, \$350 rod and reel, \$2,000 per purse seine/menhaden seine, and \$50 cast net use.
- (20) Crawfish gear license \$25 for crawfish trap use.
- (21) Freshwater gear license \$50 for one shad gill net or one shad seine, or use of other netting specified.
- (22) Wholesale/retail seafood dealer's license <u>from</u> \$250 <u>to</u> \$550 for residents and <u>from</u> \$1105 <u>to</u> \$2,200 for nonresidents.
- (23) Combines wholesale/retail seafood dealer's license and removes the associated fee.
- (24) Wholesale out-of-state crab shipping license from \$100 to \$240 per year.
- (25) Transport license from \$30 to \$83 per vehicle.
- (26) Special permit issued for the commercial taking or sale by a commercial fisherman of spotted sea trout <u>from</u> \$100 <u>to</u> \$50 for residents and <u>from</u> \$400 <u>to</u> \$600 for nonresidents.

- (27) Reptile and amphibian wholesale/retail dealer's license <u>from</u> \$105 <u>to</u> \$220 for a resident and from \$405 to \$880 for a nonresident.
- (28) Domesticated aquatic organism license <u>from</u> \$15 <u>to</u> \$25 for residents and <u>from</u> \$400 to \$500 for nonresidents.
- (29) Oyster seed ground vessel permit <u>from</u> \$250 <u>to</u> \$50 for a resident and <u>from</u> \$1,000 <u>to</u> \$200 for a nonresident, plus Public Oyster Seed Ground gear license for \$200 per year for a resident and \$800 per year for a nonresident.
- (30) Reptile and amphibian collector's license <u>from</u> \$25 <u>to</u> \$55 for a resident and <u>from</u> \$200 <u>to</u> \$420 for a nonresident, and changes the requirement to possess a collector's license for residents <u>from</u> under 16 <u>to</u> under 18 years.
- (31) Nonresident three-day reptile and amphibian wholesale/retail dealer's license $\underline{\text{from}}$ \$75 $\underline{\text{to}}$ \$150.
- (32) Reptile and amphibian transport license <u>from</u> \$30 <u>to</u> \$65 per vehicle for a resident and <u>from</u> \$120 <u>to</u> \$250 per vehicle for a nonresident with an application fee for such license from \$200 to \$420.
- (33) Shrimp gear license \$25 per butterfly/skimmer net, \$25 per trawl, and \$25 for freshwater shrimp net use.

<u>Proposed law</u> provides that any required species specific culture permit shall cost \$100 and all other species specific permits shall cost \$50. Further provides that mariculture permits shall cost \$500 annually.

<u>Proposed law</u> further changes the date for when a wholesale/retail seafood dealer can purchase a license for the following license year <u>from</u> October 1 <u>to</u> November 15 of the prior year.

<u>Proposed law</u> prohibits the commercial taking or sale by a commercial fisherman of shark except by special permit a cost of \$25.

<u>Proposed law</u> requires the Dept. of Wildlife and Fisheries to offer all licenses and credentials on LA Wallet.

<u>Proposed law</u> requires the Dept. of Wildlife and Fisheries to phase in the changes to commercial license fees implementing fifty percent of each fee increase or decrease starting on November 15, 2021, and one hundred percent of each fee increase or decrease starting on November 15, 2023.

<u>Present law</u> allows any person born in La. who possesses a valid Louisiana birth certificate to purchase a nonresident temporary hunting license that is valid for five consecutive days for the cost of a resident hunting license. <u>Proposed law</u> adds basic fishing privileges and extends the period for which the license is valid <u>from</u> five days <u>to</u> 10 days.

<u>Present law</u> provides for severance and excise taxes on skins, by trappers, alligator hunters, and alligator farmers, on shipping or taking own catch out of state, and on oysters, fresh water mussels, clams, and shrimp. <u>Proposed law</u> repeals present law.

<u>Proposed law</u> repeals the Derelict Crab Trap Removal Program Account, a non-resident charter skiff license and \$30 fee, examples of wholesale/retail seafood dealers, the retail seafood dealer's license and fee, a limited transfer of net licenses applicable three years from 1995, the Oyster Seed Ground Vessel Permit Appeals Board, fees for promotion and protection of wild-caught shrimp, and mariculture and harvest of mariculture fish provisions.

Restores the <u>present law</u> prohibition against the issuance of new commercial gear licenses for gill nets, trammel nets, strike nets, or seines in the saltwater areas of the state.

Restores the <u>present law</u> fee for commercial fishermen to purchase a trawl, skimmer, or butterfly gear license.

(Amends R.S. 34:851.20(A)(1), and 851.32(A), R.S. 56:8(16)(a)(ii) and (b)(i), 10(B)(1)(a)(i), (b), (e), (f), and (g), (5), (7)(a), (9), and (10), and (D), 10.1(B) and (C), 103(A) and (C)(1), 109(D), 116(C)(1) and (D), 116.1(C)(3), 171(A), 172(B), 251(A)(1) and (3) through (6), 253(C)(1), 258, 262(A), (B), and (D), 263(A), 302, 302.1(A) through (C), 302.9(A)(1), (C), and (F), 302.9.1(A), (B), and (E), 302.10(B) and (C), 303(B), (D)(1), and (F), 303.1.1(B), (C), and (E), 303.6(B), 304(B) and (C), 304.1(B), 305(B) and (C)(1), 305.1(B) and (C), 306(A)(1) and (B)(6), 306.1(B)(7)(b) and (c), 306.2(A)(1) and (B), 306.3(B) and (C), 306.5(A), 307.1(A), 322.1(A), 322.2(A), 325.1(A)(1), (3)(a), and (C)(2)(d), 325.3(A)(1) and (C), 326(E)(2) and (H), 330(B), 412(A)(2) and (5), 433.1(A)(1), 442(B), 449(B), 492, 500(A), 501(B)(2), 632.4(A), 632.5(A) and (E), 632.9(B)(1), 641, 649.1, 649.2, 649.3, 649.4, 649.7, 653(A) and 1833; Adds R.S. 56:8(16)(a)(v), 10(B)(4) and (7)(c), 10.3, 102, 112(C), 302.1(D), 303(G), 306(B)(7), 411(B)(4) through (6), 645, 678, 679, and R.S. 56:3000 through 3007; Repeals R.S. 34:851.20(N), R.S. 56:10(B)(1)(d) and (6), 103(E) and (F), 103.1, 104, 105, 155, 156, 157, 164, 165, 166, 256, 257, 302.1, 302.2, 302.3, 302.4, 302.5, 302.6, 302.9.1(D), 303.6(A), 306(A)(2), 306.1, 306.2(A)(2), 333(H), 433.1(C) and (D), 434.1, 446, 451, 472, 506, 506.1, 579.1, 579.2, 641.1, 642, 643, 646, 647.1, 649.5, 649.6, 650, 650.1, and 1832)