2021 Regular Session

HOUSE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION NO. 129

BY REPRESENTATIVES DEVILLIER, BACALA, BAGLEY, BEAULLIEU, CARRIER, CREWS, ECHOLS, EDMONSTON, EMERSON, FARNUM, FREIBERG, GLOVER, HORTON, HUVAL, JENKINS, MCCORMICK, PHELPS, PRESSLY, RISER, ROMERO, SCHEXNAYDER, SEABAUGH, STEFANSKI, AND TARVER AND SENATOR CLOUD

## A CONCURRENT RESOLUTION

To commend the Louisiana State University at Eunice baseball team on winning the National Junior College Athletic Association 2021 Division II National Championship.

WHEREAS, the Louisiana State University at Eunice Bengals baseball team defeated Western Oklahoma State, 5-4, in a thrilling fourteen-inning contest to capture the program's seventh NJCAA Division II National Championship; and

WHEREAS, Jack Merrifield led the LSUE offense with four hits and two runs scored; Peyton LeJeune and Jarrett McDonald also contributed with multiple hits to the team's twelve-hit night; and

WHEREAS, the Bengals earned numerous individual honors for their inspiring performance throughout the tournament; Jerry Couch was named the Most Outstanding Pitcher and Peyton LeJeune was named Most Outstanding Player; Jack Merrifield and Hunter Tabb joined their teammates on the All-Tournament Team as well; and

WHEREAS, the marathon match was a winner-take-all in the best-of-three series, and the victory gave the Bengals a final record of fifty-one wins and seven losses; and

WHEREAS, LSUE Head Coach Jeff Willis is no stranger to this level of success as he is responsible for leading the Bengals' baseball program to each of its seven national titles; and

WHEREAS, the members of the Louisiana State University at Eunice NJCAA 2021

Division II National Champion baseball team are Christian Gonzales, Kole Myers, Jarrett

McDonald, Jack Merrifield, Jerry Couch, Scott Jones, Bryce LaRocca, Ayden Makarus,

HCR NO. 129 ENROLLED

Beau Kirsch, Jacob Hammond, Noah Beason, Thomas Stevens, Austin Andrishok, Luke

McGibboney, Hunter Tabb, Brady Hebert, Carter Quinn, Jase McDonald, Cade Hart, Cole

Romero, Jackson Rodriguez, Peyton LeJeune, Thomas Papadopoulos, Brock Barthelemy,

Jackson Fraser, Dalton Burrell, Austyn Benoit, Miles Clack, Darian Richard, Bryson

Connell, Brendan Moody, Drew Lasseigne, Michael Fontenot, Dylan Beier, Taegan

Bourque, Brandon Mooney, Johnny Robinson, and Gabe Spedale; and

WHEREAS, the coaching staff includes Head Coach Jeff Willis and assistant

coaches Alan Orgain, Roberto Vaz, Paige Hodges, and Michael Poole; and

WHEREAS, the Louisiana State University at Eunice baseball team is most

deserving of recognition for their incredible championship season.

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Legislature of Louisiana does hereby

commend the Louisiana State University at Eunice baseball team on winning the National

Junior College Athletic Association 2021 Division II National Championship; does hereby

recognize the Louisiana State University at Eunice baseball program for its historic success

and place among the premier baseball programs in the country; and does hereby extend

sincere hopes for the team's continued success.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that a copy of this Resolution be transferred to the

chancellor of Louisiana State University at Eunice.

SPEAKER OF THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

PRESIDENT OF THE SENATE