RÉSUMÉ DIGEST

SCR 44 2021 Regular Session

Hensgens

Creates the Risk Charge Commission to study current R.S. 30:10, relative to risks and cost of drilling in a compulsory unit and to submit recommendations to the Senate Committee on Natural Resources and the House Committee on Natural Resources and Environment no later than February 4, 2022. The commission terminates upon the date of submission of such report or February 4, 2022, whichever occurs first.

The commission members consist of the following:

- (1) One member appointed by the Senate president.
- (2) One member appointed by the House speaker.
- One member appointed by the chairman of the Senate Committee on Natural Resources who represents mineral owners.
- (4) One member appointed by the Chairman of the House Committee on Natural Resources and Environment who represents operators.
- (5) The secretary of the Department of Natural Resources, or his designee.
- (6) The commissioner of conservation, or his designee.
- (7) One member appointed by the La. State Law Institute.
- (8) One member appointed by the La. Landowners Association.
- (9) One member appointed by the La. Oil and Gas Association.
- (10) One member appointed by the La. Mid-Continent Oil and Gas Association.
- (11) One member appointed by the La. chapter of the National Association of Royalty Owners.
- (12) One member appointed by the La. Association of Business and Industry.

Specifies that members of the commission receive no compensation for their service to the state, except per diem or expenses reimbursement to which they may be individually entitled as members of the constituent organizations.