RÉSUMÉ DIGEST

ACT 37 (SB 24) 2021 Regular Session

Price

<u>New law</u>, relative to the Louisiana State Employees' Retirement System (LASERS), the Teachers' Retirement System of Louisiana (TRSL) and the Louisiana School Employees' Retirement System (LSERS), provides a monthly benefit increase to:

- (1) Any retiree who on 6/30/21, meets the following criteria:
 - (a) He has 30 or more years of service credit.
 - (b) He has been retired for 15 years or more.
 - (c) He receives a monthly retirement benefit of less than \$1,450 dollars.
 - (d) He is at least 60 years of age.
 - (e) He has neither participated in the Deferred Retirement Option Plan (DROP) nor chosen the Initial Benefit Option (IBO).
- (2) Any nonretiree beneficiary of a retiree who would meet the above criteria if the retiree were alive.
- (3) Any unmarried surviving spouse, minor child, or mentally or physically handicapped child of a deceased member, which survivor is receiving a monthly retirement benefit of less than \$1,450 on 6/30/21, the deceased member would have met all of the following criteria:
 - (a) He has been retired for at least 30 years.
 - (b) He has been deceased for 15 years or more.
 - (c) He would have been at least age 60.
 - (d) He did not participate in DROP.

Provides that such increase shall be in the form of an increase to a retiree's or beneficiary's monthly benefit in an amount equal to the lesser of \$300 per month or the amount necessary to increase his monthly benefit to \$1,450.

<u>Prior law</u> provided several payment options for retirement benefits, which a retiree may choose if he wishes benefits to continue being paid to a designated beneficiary upon his death. Such options will reduce the amount of the monthly benefit that a retiree receives during his lifetime, and may in turn reduce the amount of the monthly benefit that his beneficiary receives upon his death.

<u>New law</u> provides that if any beneficiary to whom <u>new law</u> applies is receiving a monthly benefit based upon an optional allowance pursuant to <u>prior law</u>, which amount is less than that received by the retiree while alive, the amount of the increase payable pursuant to <u>new</u> law shall be prorated based upon the option chosen.

<u>Prior law</u> generally provided for survivor benefits for certain survivors of deceased members which members died prior to applying for retirement.

<u>New law</u> provides that any unmarried surviving spouse, minor child, or mentally or physically handicapped child, who is receiving a survivor benefit under <u>prior law</u> shall receive a benefit increase pursuant to <u>new law</u>. Any person who is the sole survivor of such a member shall receive the lesser of \$300 per month or the amount necessary to increase his monthly benefit to \$1,450. If there are multiple persons receiving such survivor benefits, an increase of \$300 per month shall be shared equally among them.

<u>Prior law</u> generally provided for an employee experience account from which all LASERS, TRSL, and LSERS cost-of-living adjustments are payable.

<u>New law</u> provides that funding for the benefit increase payable pursuant to <u>new law</u> shall come from the employee experience account.

STATE POLICE RETIREMENT SYSTEM

<u>New law</u>, relative to State Police Retirement System (SPRS), provides that a nonrecurring lump sum shall be payable to:

- (1) Each retiree of the system, other than a disability retiree, who meets all of the following criteria:
 - (a) The retiree, or the retiree and an alternate payee both combined, receives a monthly benefit of \$2,500 or less.
 - (b) The retiree has attained at least age sixty by 6/30/21.
 - (c) The retiree has received a benefit for at least one year by $\frac{6}{30}/21$.
 - (d) The retiree has neither participated in the Deferred Retirement Option Plan (DROP), (Back-DROP), nor Initial Benefit Option (IBO) pursuant to <u>prior law</u>.
 - (e) The retiree was hired prior to 9/8/78 and retired with 20 or more creditable years of service pursuant to the provisions of <u>prior law</u>, or was hired on or after 9/8/78 and retired with 25 or more creditable years of service pursuant to the provisions of <u>prior law</u>.
- (2) Each nonretiree beneficiary receiving a benefit who meets all of the following criteria:
 - (a) The nonretiree beneficiary's benefit is not based upon the death of a disability retiree.
 - (b) The benefits had been paid to the retiree or the beneficiary, or both combined for at least one year as of 6/30/21.
 - (c) The retiree would have attained age sixty by 6/30/21.
 - (d) The retiree for whose benefit the nonretiree is a beneficiary, otherwise meets the criteria set forth in <u>prior law</u> of <u>new law</u>.
- (3) Any person who receives a survivor benefit from the system based upon a member's death in the line of duty as of 6/30/21.
- (4) Any disability retiree, or a person who receives benefits from the system based on the death of a disability retiree, as of 6/30/21.

<u>New law</u> provides that any benefit increase paid pursuant to <u>new law</u> shall be paid from the funds in the system experience account.

<u>New law</u> provides that each person to whom <u>new law</u> applies shall receive a nonrecurring lump sum payment, payable $\frac{8}{31}$, that is the lesser of:

- (1) \$300 for each month of creditable service plus two dollars for each month of retirement through 6/30/21.
- (2) The member's current monthly benefit.

<u>New law</u> provides that the actuarial cost of implementing the provisions of <u>new law</u> shall be paid from the employee experience account.

Effective June 1, 2021.

(Adds R.S. 11:542.1.2, 883.3.1, 1145.4, and 1331.3)