RÉSUMÉ DIGEST

ACT 84 (SB 57)

2021 Regular Session

Womack

<u>Prior law</u>, relative to jury commissions, provided that except as otherwise provided, the parish jury commission shall consist of the clerk of court or a deputy clerk designated by him in writing to act in his stead in all matters affecting the jury commission, and four other members appointed by written order of the district court, who serve at the court's pleasure. Three members of the jury commission shall constitute a quorum and jury commission meetings shall be open to the public.

<u>Prior law</u> provided that in Caldwell, Claiborne, DeSoto, Union, and Webster parishes, the function of the jury commission shall be performed by the respective clerk of court or by a deputy clerk of court designated by the clerk in writing to act in his stead in all matters affecting the jury commission. The clerk of court or his designated deputy shall have the same powers, duties, and responsibilities, be governed by all applicable law pertaining to jury commissioners, perform the required duties and responsibilities with respect to jury venires, coordinate the jury venire process, and receive the compensation generally authorized for a jury commissioner.

<u>New law</u> provides that in Franklin Parish the function of the jury commission shall be performed by the clerk of court or by a deputy clerk of court designated by the clerk in writing to act in his stead in all matters affecting the jury commission. The clerk of court or his designated deputy shall have the same powers, duties, and responsibilities, be governed by all applicable law pertaining to jury commissioners, perform the required duties and responsibilities with respect to jury venires, coordinate the jury venire process, and receive the compensation generally authorized for a jury commissioner. Otherwise, retains <u>prior law</u>.

Effective August 1, 2021.

(Amends C.Cr.P. Art. 404(H))