The original instrument was prepared by Xavier Alexander. The following digest, which does not constitute a part of the legislative instrument, was prepared by Ann S. Brown.

## DIGEST 2022 Regular Session

Henry

<u>Proposed law</u> creates a Licensed Residential Appraiser (LRA) license classification and formalizes adoption of Practical Application of Real Estate Appraisal (PAREA) program criteria for Louisiana.

<u>Present law</u> provides for a real estate appraiser trainee to be licensed.

SB 367 Reengrossed

<u>Proposed law</u> provides for a trainee appraiser to be registered instead of licensed and specifically allows a trainee to have more than one supervisory appraiser. <u>Proposed law</u> provides for qualifications and training.

<u>Proposed law</u> defines a "licensed residential appraiser" as any person licensed by the board whose authority to appraise real property is limited to the appraisal of noncomplex one to four complex residential units having a transaction value of less than \$1M and one to four residential units having a transaction value of less than \$400K, according to the Real Property Appraiser Qualification Criteria.

<u>Proposed law</u> provides that nothing in <u>present law</u> and <u>proposed law</u> shall be construed to prohibit an applicant from submitting an official PAREA program completion certificate to evidence satisfactory completion of all education and experience necessary for licensure as either a licensed residential appraiser or as a certified residential appraiser, according to the qualifications required by the Real Property Appraiser Qualification Criteria. <u>Present law</u> provides that an applicant, who has fully completed an authorized PAREA program, can apply for licensure either as a licensed residential appraiser or as a certified residential appraiser on a form prescribed by the board and obtain board approval of the application prior to conducting appraisal activity in this state.

<u>Present law</u> provides standards for licensure and penalties for persons engaged in real estate appraisal activity without a license. Provides for the Louisiana Real Estate Appraisers Board's authority over licensees, receipt of applications and renewals for licensing, examination, continuing education requirements, disciplinary proceedings, standards for communication, and recordkeeping.

Proposed law retains present law, but makes it also applicable to registrations.

<u>Present law</u> provides that as a prerequisite to license renewal, all certified residential and certified general appraisers shall complete the equivalent of 14 hours of continuing education instruction per calendar year.

Proposed law repeals present law.

Effective upon signature of the governor or lapse of time for gubernatorial action.

(Amends R.S. 37:3392(intro para), (8), (12) - (14), 3393(A) - (E), (G), (I)(intro para), (J) - (L), 3394(B)(1)(b) and (c) and (B)(2), 3395(A)(1), (2) and (4), (C) and (D), 3396(A), 3397, 3398(A), 3405, 3408(A), (B), (D)(intro para) and (F), 3409(A)(intro para), (A)(6), (B)(2) and (3), (C)(2), (D), (E)(intro para), and (F), 3410 and 3411; adds R.S. 37:3392(15) - (27) and 3399; repeals R.S. 37:3392(11) and 3397.1))

## Summary of Amendments Adopted by Senate

## <u>Committee Amendments Proposed by Senate Committee on Commerce, Consumer</u> Protection, and International Affairs to the original bill

- 1. Makes technical changes.
- 2. Authorizes a "certified residential appraiser" to appraise vacant or unimproved land that is utilized for one to four family residential unit purposes but not for subdivisions for which a development appraisal is necessary.
- 3. Defines "transactional value" and "complex one to four unit residential property appraisal".
- 4. Provides that a trainee appraiser shall be entitled to obtain copies of appraisal reports he prepared in full or in part.
- 5. Provides that a supervisory appraiser shall keep copies of trainee appraisal reports for at least five years.

## Senate Floor Amendments to engrossed bill

- 1. Makes technical corrections.
- 2. Removes the provision stating that if any person who is not registered or licensed as an appraiser offers or engages in such activities, will established sufficient evidence to raise a presumption of fact that he has engaged in illegal activity.