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Present law provides for the powers and duties of public postsecondary management boards to establish fee amounts
applicable to students attending institutions under their jurisdiction. Proposed law requires graduate students who serve as a
teaching assistant or research assistant to be exempt from payment of all mandatory fees. Requires each public
postsecondary education management board to adopt a policies providing that such graduate students are exempt from
payment of all mandatory fees except for tuition. Provides the law shall become effective on August 1, 2024.

There is no anticipated direct material effect on governmental expenditures as a result of this measure. To the extent the
SGR revenue loss is significant, institutions may require additional SGF appropriations in order to maintain instructional and
other services as a result of graduate students receiving the fee exemption.

Beginning in FY 25, there will be decreased self-generated revenues (SGR) for postsecondary institutions that do not
currently offer exemptions for mandatory fees for graduate students who serve as a teaching or research assistant. Actual
costs are indeterminable and will vary for each institution based on the number of graduate students that hold such
positions, current fee amounts, as well as the number of credit hours taken by individual students. To the extent an
institution already provides the exemption or does not enroll and employ a significant number of graduate students, there
will be little to no costs. The SGR impact in future fiscal years is indeterminable and will depend on institutional fees and the
number of graduate students employed as teaching or research assistants.

The Louisiana State University (LSU) system estimates the exemption will result in a SGR decrease of $5.2 M. Institutions
estimating significant revenue loss include LSU A&M ($5 M); LSU Health Sciences Center - New Orleans ($118,000); LSU
Health Sciences Center - Shreveport ($30,000); and LSU Shreveport ($50,000).

The Southern University (SU) system estimates the exemption will result in a SGR decrease of $2.4 M. Institutions
estimating significant revenue loss include SU A&M ($946,000); SU Law School ($800,000); and SU New Orleans
($614,000).

The University of Louisiana (UL) system estimates the exemption will result in a SGR decrease of $2.4 M. Institutions
estimating significant revenue loss include LA Tech University ($990,000); UL Monroe ($750,000); UL Lafayette ($559,250);
and Northwestern State University ($96,900). Other institutions estimate revenue losses totaling $20,000 or less.

There is no impact of the proposed legislation on the Louisiana Community and Technical College System (LCTCS) as two-
year colleges do not offer graduate programs.
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