2022 Regular Session

HOUSE BILL NO. 817

1

BY REPRESENTATIVE MIKE JOHNSON

2	To amend and reenact R.S. 15:1202(A), relative to the membership of the Louisiana
3	Commission on Law Enforcement and Administration of Criminal Justice; to add a
4	member to the commission; to provide for related matters.
5	Be it enacted by the Legislature of Louisiana:
6	Section 1. R.S. 15:1202(A) is hereby amended and reenacted to read as follows:
7	§1202. Composition of commission
8	A. The commission shall consist of fifty-eight fifty-nine members as
9	follows:
10	(1) The chairman of the Senate Committee on Judiciary C, or his designee.
1	(2) The chairman of the House Committee on the Administration of Criminal
12	Justice or his designee.
13	(3) The secretary of the Department of Public Safety and Corrections or his
14	designee.
15	(4) The chief justice of the Louisiana Supreme Court or his designee.
16	(5) The chief judge of each of the courts of appeal.
17	(6) The president of the Louisiana Juvenile Judges Association.
18	(7) The president of the Louisiana District Attorneys Association.
19	(8) The president of the Louisiana State Troopers Association.
20	(9) The president of the Louisiana Sheriffs' Association.
21	(10) The president of the Louisiana Fraternal Order of Police.
22	(10) (11) The president of the Louisiana Municipal Association.

AN ACT

Page 1 of 3

CODING: Words in struck through type are deletions from existing law; words <u>underscored</u> are additions.

HB NO. 817	ENROLLED

1	$\frac{(11)}{(12)}$ The president of the Louisiana Association of Chiefs of Police.
2	(12) (13) The chairman of the Louisiana State Bar Association Section on
3	Criminal Law.
4	(13) (14) The state public defender employed by the Louisiana Public
5	Defender Board.
6	(14) (15) The deputy secretary for public safety services of the Department
7	of Public Safety and Corrections.
8	(15) (16) Three district attorneys appointed by the governor.
9	(16) (17) Three sheriffs appointed by the governor.
10	(17) (18) Two chiefs of police appointed by the governor.
11	(18) (19) A district court judge appointed by the governor.
12	(19) (20) A juvenile court judge appointed by the governor.
13	(20) (21) Three professional or lay persons appointed by the president of the
14	Senate.
15	(21) (22) Three professional or lay persons appointed by the speaker of the
16	House of Representatives.
17	(22) (23) Fifteen professional or lay persons appointed by the governor as
18	may have a vital concern with law enforcement and the administration of criminal
19	justice.
20	(23) The president or director of the Louisiana chapter of the National
21	Constables Association. (24) The president of the Louisiana City Marshals and City
22	Constables Association, or his designee.
23	(24) (25) One person appointed by the governor from a list of at least three
24	persons submitted by Victims and Citizens Against Crime, Inc.
25	(25) (26) The president of the Louisiana Union of Police, or his designee.
26	$\frac{(26)}{(27)}$ The attorney general or his designee.
27	(27) (28) The deputy secretary of youth services of the Department of Public
28	Safety and Corrections or his designee.
29	(28) (29) The director of the Louisiana Clerks of Court Association.

1	(29) (30) The chairperson of the Louisiana Legislative Women's Caucus, or
2	her designee.
3	(30) (31) The chairman of the Senate Committee on Judiciary B, or his
4	designee.
5	(31) (32) The chairman of the Senate Select Committee on Women and
6	Children, or his designee.
7	* * *
	SPEAKER OF THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES
	PRESIDENT OF THE SENATE
	GOVERNOR OF THE STATE OF LOUISIANA

ENROLLED

HB NO. 817

APPROVED: