SLS 22RS-3785 ORIGINAL

2022 Regular Session

SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 214

BY SENATOR BARROW

COMMENDATIONS. Commends and congratulates the 2021-2022 Teachers of the Year from Senate District 15.

1	A RESOLUTION
2	To commend and congratulate the Teachers of the Year from schools in Senate District 15
3	for exemplary and dedicated service.
4	WHEREAS, education and knowledge are the foundation of America's current and
5	future strength; and
6	WHEREAS, teachers and other education staff have earned and deserve the respect
7	of students and communities for their selfless dedication to our state's children; and
8	WHEREAS, it is necessary to raise public awareness of the unquantifiable
9	contributions of teachers, and to promote greater respect and understanding for the teaching
10	profession; and
11	WHEREAS, teachers play an important role in preparing children to be positive and
12	contributing members of society, and they often have an ever-expanding quest for
13	knowledge; and
14	WHEREAS, students, schools, communities, and a number of organizations host
15	teacher appreciation events in recognition of teacher appreciation week, and those same
16	groups are ever-committed to adopting efforts to close the academic achievement gap; and
17	WHEREAS, the contributions made by our teachers to the world of academia and
18	to society cannot adequately be recounted; and

1	WHEREAS, the outstanding educators named Teacher of the Year for schools
2	located in Senate District 15 are as follows:
3	Marissa Jones, Baker Heights Elementary
4	Kanika Batiste, Brownfields Elementary
5	Tera Lewis, Copper Mill Elementary
6	Beelyn Ambeau, Crestworth Elementary
7	Lisha Winston, Forest Heights Academy of Excellence
8	Rushondh Moore, Glen Oaks Park Elementary
9	Falisha Dootson, Greenbriar Elementary
10	Michelle Bennet, La Belle Aire Elementary School
11	Tequilla Bernard, Melrose Elementary
12	Brennea Dozier, Merrydale Elementary
13	Dominique Gibbs, Park Forest Elementary
14	Erica Courtney-Parker, Progress Elementary
15	Kya Taylor, Ryan Elementary
16	Jasmine Sholes, Sharon Hill Elementary
17	Wendy Maranto, Twin Oaks Elementary School
18	Carlye Gongora, Villa Del Rey Elementary School
19	Ingrid Butler, White Hills Elementary
20	Kerry Lee, Zachary Elementary
21	Tanya Dargin, Scotlandville Middle Academic Magnet School
22	Erin Keys, Sherwood Middle Academic Magnet School
23	Ronald Stewart, Baker High School
24	Kenosha Base, Belaire High School
25	Lilibeth Pongwan, Glen Oaks High School
26	Johnathan Mattear, Northdale Superintendents Academy
27	Nia Boutte, Scotlandville Magnet High School
28	Reagan Daniel, Rollins Place Elementary; and
29	WHEREAS, these exemplary educators are held in the highest regard by their
30	students, their colleagues, and their communities.

SLS 22RS-3785

ORIGINAL
SR NO. 214

1

2

3

4

5

6

7

8

9

SR 214 Original

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Senate of the Legislature of Louisiana does hereby commend the educators selected as the Teachers of the Year for their service to the students of Senate District 15, and does hereby recognize and acclaim the contributions each educator has given to the academic world and to society, and does hereby express best hopes that their marks in history will continue to be made for many years to come.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that a copy of this Resolution be transmitted to the educators selected as Teachers of the Year in Senate District 15 for the 2021-2022 academic calendar year.

The original instrument and the following digest, which constitutes no part of the legislative instrument, were prepared by Yoursheka Butler.

DIGEST 2022 Regular Session

Barrow

Commends the educators selected as the 2021-2022 Teachers of the Year for Senate District 15.