### SENATE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION NO. 10

### BY SENATOR PEACOCK

#### A CONCURRENT RESOLUTION

To commend and congratulate the Parkway High School Lady Panthers on winning the 2023 Louisiana High School Athletic Association Non-Select Division I State Championship.

WHEREAS, the Parkway High School Lady Panthers basketball team, led by Head Coach Gloria Williams, captured the 2023 Non-Select Division I state title by defeating Ponchatoula High School 80-57 in a rematch of the 2022 title game; and

WHEREAS, following a heartbreaking double overtime loss to Ponchatoula in the 2022 championship, the Parkway Lady Panthers weathered a challenging season that saw numerous players sidelined by injury, and emerged with an impressive 30-5 overall record; and

WHEREAS, Parkway finished the season with at least thirty wins for the second year in a row; and

WHEREAS, the Lady Panthers dominated their playoff opponents, winning four playoff games by an average of over thirty-four points; and

WHEREAS, this championship win represents Parkway's first state title in girls' basketball; and

WHEREAS, guard Mikaylah Williams, an All-American and LSU signee, put up a double-double, leading all scoring with thirty-four points, including a buzzer-beater from thirty feet to end the first half of play, and coming down with eleven rebounds; and

WHEREAS, junior guard Chloe Larry scored seventeen points, grabbed three steals, and will return for another title run next year; and

WHEREAS, in the final game of their high school careers, the Lady Panther seniors brought a game-winning formula, with forward Ty'lissa Henderson scoring nine points and capturing four steals, guard Makenna Miles scoring nine points, guard Aniyah Russell scoring six points, and center Amoree Williams bringing down eight rebounds; and

WHEREAS, the Parkway Lady Panthers championship team included players Zara

Baker-Scanlon, Jasmine Brooks, Tylissa Henderson, Jasmyne Hendrix, Jayla James, Mahogany Johnson, Chloe Larry, Kenadie Loche, Makenna Miles, Aniya Russell, Khia Thomas, Amoree Williams, Jamie Williams, Mikaylah Williams, and Savannah Wilson, Head Coach Gloria Williams, assistant coaches Tucker Cox and Alice Robinson, and staff Connie Coker, Aaron Courville, Dakota Howard, Benjamin Williams, and Jeremiah Williams; and

WHEREAS, the Parkway Lady Panthers basketball team exhibited the passion, teamwork, and determination of true champions deserving of the highest recognition for their spirit and dedication to excellence.

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Legislature of Louisiana does hereby commend and congratulate the 2023 Parkway High School Lady Panthers on winning the LHSAA Non-Select Division I State Girls' Basketball Championship.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that a copy of this Resolution be transmitted to Coach Gloria Williams.

# PRESIDENT OF THE SENATE

## SPEAKER OF THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES