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Proposed law provides a one-time refundable credit to Louisiana residents that are individual income tax filers. The credit is
$125, declining as adjusted gross income increases above $100,000 with no credit issued for incomes over $150,000 (all
double for joint filers). An additional credit of $125 per dependent may be claimed on the 2022 filing (max of 2). The cost of
the program is capped at $300 million and credits will be granted on a first-come, first-served basis.

Effective upon governor’s signature.

The Department of Revenue reports that additional resources will be needed to implement this bill, including 4 WAE
Revenue Tax Specialists for manual review of applications and telephone call volume (base salaries of $51,900). Additional
costs will be incurred due to system and form modifications. Total costs are expected to be approximately $246,000. The
duration of increased LDR expenditures is unknown, however LDR indicates that much of it will likely be in FY24 only.

LDR additionally reports potential issues with allowing the credit in association with the 2022 return. A supplemental form or
stand-alone form may be required for this credit, otherwise the department and third-party software vendors may have to
revise the 2022 return, and the roughly 1.1 million taxpayers who have already filed for 2022 would require amended
returns, should they wish to claim the credit for TY22.

The bill provides a one-time refundable credit that will be provided to certain Louisiana taxpayers, which may be claimed on
a Tax Year 2022 (TY22) or TY23 return. Proposed law specifies that for the purposes of determining eligibility, a return from
TY21 may be used in lieu of TY22, in the event that a TY22 return has not yet been filed.

Eligibility for the credit is based on Federal Adjusted Gross Income (AGI), and taxpayers reporting less than $100K, between
$100K-$125K, and between $125K-$150K, respectively, are eligible for a $125, $100, and $75 credit. Each dependent is
eligible for an additional $125 credit, and for joint returns, each spouse is eligible for a separate credit based on the AGI
reported.

This analysis estimates credit eligibility using historical returns from TY21, and assumes all the revenue impact is realized in
FY24. The results by AGI range are listed below:

Federal AGI                   Number of Taxpayers     credit        Est. cost (incl. spouse + limit 2 claimed dependents)
<100,000      1,072,647                     $125       $233,651,250
100,000-124,999      102,694                        $100       $26,267,475
125,000-149,999           68,299                          $75          $15,441,200                   _____________________
Total                                                                                 $275,359,925
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