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There will be an increase in local fund expenditures due to the requirements in proposed legislation; however, the total
impact is indeterminable. Current law requires schools to screen for the following impediments at least once in kindergarten
through third grade: dyslexia, attention deficit disorder, and factors placing students at-risk of dropping out of school.
Additionally, each second and third grade student must be administered a literacy screener to identify those reading above
or below grade level. Currently, the Department of Education (LDE) requires an approved test to meet the literacy screening
required by law. Districts use the test results in conjunction with other considerations, such as classroom performance and
family interviews, as indicators for dyslexia.

Proposed legislation requires the use of a dyslexia screener that meets the following criteria: (1) be developed solely for
dyslexia, (2) be evidence-based with proven, published psychometric validity, and (3) be used for the sole purpose of
determining whether a student is at-risk for dyslexia. It will likely be most cost-effective for schools to utilize one of the
dyslexia screeners identified by LDE that meet the required criteria, however proposed legislation does not require schools to
do so. Based on information from the websites of companies identified by LDE that provide screeners meeting the criteria in
proposed law, screeners may cost between $1.30 to $5.00 per student. There are currently 50,345 kindergarten students
enrolled in public schools and 6,236 kindergarten students in charter schools in Louisiana, for a total of 56,581. Taking this
number and multiplying it by the lowest available known cost of a screener meeting the requirements, the LFO estimates
costs of screeners to be, at a minimum $73,555.30. This number will be higher depending on the base cost of the selected
screener and the number of students in other grades who are assessed via screener by the request of a teacher or parent or
legal guardian. In addition to the costs of the initial screener, each school will also need to consider the costs of training,
staffing, and support for the screener they select. For illustrative purposes, one identified screener, based on information
available on the company website, provides training at a cost of $500 per class. Each class may have a maximum of 30
participants. These costs will vary by screener and it is unknown how many teachers would need to be trained per district;
therefore a total cost is indeterminable.

CONTINUED ON PAGE 2

Proposed legislation adds a new requirement that a dyslexia screener be administered to each student by a classroom
teacher in the second half of kindergarten in Louisiana public and charter schools. It retains present law that allows for
screening any time it is requested by a teacher or a parent or guardian. Proposed legislation additionally requires that if a
screener indicates a student is “at risk” of dyslexia, additional tests of language, an academic performance review, and an
interview with a student’s parent or legal guardian are all required to be included as part of a core assessment to reach a
diagnosis of dyslexia.

There is no anticipated direct material effect on governmental revenues as a result of this measure.
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Proposed legislation requires that screeners not be the sole determinate of whether a student is identified as dyslexic, but
rather an indicator of whether a student is “at-risk” for dyslexia. Upon determining a student is at risk for dyslexia, the
legislation would require a core assessment for diagnosis to include: (1) tests of language, reading, reading fluency, spelling,
and intellectual ability, (2) an academic performance review, and (3) an interview with the student’s parent or legal
guardian. Districts will likely experience significant costs if required to conduct evaluations consisting of testing, written
reports, and family conferences. LDE reports school psychologists and psychometricians are able to perform testing, but
psychologists are the only staff licensed to review and analyze results to make a final determination of dyslexia. LDE reports
there are approximately 172 school psychologists employed in Louisiana public schools, as of the most recent data pull on
10/1/2022. The assessment requirements will add to the existing workload for staff and may increase staffing needs.
Following these assessments, local school systems are required to provide an annual report to the LDE including the number
of students in all grade levels identified as dyslexic. This reporting requirement is in current law (RS 17:392.1(F)) and thus
should have no impact on expenditures or workloads.

LDE reports there is no anticipated impact to department expenditures as a result of the proposed legislation. LDE will
identify dyslexia screeners that meet the requirements in proposed legislation, and provide that information to schools and
school systems via existing communication methods. Vendor contact information will also be available on the LDE website.

There is no additional cost associated with developing criteria for a teacher to be issued a dyslexia practitioner ancillary
certificate or a dyslexia therapist ancillary certificate, as these criteria are already included in statute. This requirement is
being recodified for statutory organization.
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