BY SENATOR CLOUD

## A RESOLUTION

To commend and congratulate the Oakdale High School girls' basketball team on winning Division IV (Non-Select) at the 2023 Ochsner Louisiana High School Athletic Association (LHSAA) Girls' Marsh Madness Basketball State Tournament.

WHEREAS, on March 3, 2023, the Oakdale High School Lady Warriors basketball team captured the state title by defeating Lakeview High School, 53-48, in the championship game held at Southeastern University's University Center; and

WHEREAS, the victory gives the Oakdale High School girls' basketball program its first-ever state title; and

WHEREAS, the Lady Warriors entered Marsh Madness as the number 9-seed of a 28-seeded playoff bracket; and

WHEREAS, on their way to victory and in addition to their win over the number 2-seed Lakeview, in the quarter-finals they dominated over the number 1-seed White Castle High School, 54-31, and in the semi-finals they defeated the number 4-seed Arcadia High School, 47-46, with a 3-point on-the-buzzer winning shot; and

WHEREAS, the 14-member state champion team includes: senior Marlee Hart; juniors Chloe Bradley, Akeelah Hobson, Zakyra Spikes, and Amiya White; sophomores Kaylee Bradley, Lundin Jack, Maliyah Spires, Nariah Williams, and Emani Young; and freshmen Aldyn Hebert, Jolie West, Ainslie Willis and Bryleigh Willis; and

WHEREAS, the championship team was coached by Head Coach Renotta Edwards and assistant coaches Tori Bordelon and Jennifer Green; and

WHEREAS, the Oakdale High School Lady Warriors are truly an inspiring team and source of pride for the students, parents, faculty, the Oakdale community, and the state.

SR NO. 81 ENROLLED

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Senate of the Legislature of Louisiana does hereby commend and congratulate the Oakdale High School girls' basketball team on winning Division IV (Non-Select) at the 2023 Ochsner LHSAA Girls' Marsh Madness Basketball State Tournament.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that a copy of this Resolution be transmitted to Oakdale High School principal, Lynn Deville.

PRESIDENT OF THE SENATE