SLS 23RS-2058 **ORIGINAL**

2023 Regular Session

SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 113

BY SENATORS ABRAHAM AND STINE

COMMENDATIONS. Commends the Barbe High School baseball team on winning the Louisiana High School Athletic Association 2023 Class 5A state championship.

1	A RESOLUTION
2	To commend and congratulate the Barbe High School baseball team on winning the
3	Louisiana High School Athletic Association 2023 Class 5A state championship.
4	WHEREAS, the Barbe High School Buccaneers baseball team of Lake Charles
5	defeated the Rebels of West Monroe 10-4 to win the school's twelfth state baseball title;
6	Barbe outfielder and second base player Donovan Lasalle earned the game's Most
7	Outstanding Player Award; and
8	WHEREAS, the Buccaneers finished the season with thirty-nine wins and only one
9	loss; the Buccaneers excelled on the mound by setting multiple school records including: an
10	ERA of 0.89; Hits per game 3.26; and also throwing 20 shutouts in their forty games played;
11	and
12	WHEREAS, the Barbe offense excelled by producing 365 runs in forty games, while
13	breaking the school's triples record with 21; and
14	WHEREAS, it was defensively the best season by Barbe in program history with a
15	fielding percentage of 0.981 which vastly contributed to the teams 20 shutouts and the
16	highest winning percentage in program history of .97; and
17	WHEREAS, over the last three years, the program has a combined record of 114-7;
18	and

SLS 23RS-2058 ORIGINAL SR NO. 113

WHEREAS, the members of the 2023 Barbe High School baseball team are Kenny 1 2 Golla, Seth Hebert, Donovan Lasalle, Andrew Lanthier, Holden Leblanc, Landon Ledoux, Ashton Quiller, Landon Schexnider, Grant Trahan, JC Vanek, Kasen Bellard, Diego 3 Corrales, Owen Galt, Gabe Guidry, Collin Harris, Ricky Parra, Drake Poussan, Landon 4 Victorian, Dane Dixon, Ben Golla, Gaysen Guillory, Presley Courville, Ian Culton, Dylan 5 6 Demarie, Jairus Miller, Shyler Smith, Cameron Stutes, Jace Vasquez, Brit Vick, JD 7 Alexander, Nic Duhon, Grayson Fullington, Drew Galt, Colton Gregg, Hayden Heath, Myles 8 Ledoux, Gillen McGee, Drew Nunez, Sawyer Vidrine, Bryson Tilton, Matthew Riley, Jacob 9 Regan, Glenn Cecchini, Raissa Cecchini, Garin Cecchini, Dillon Carroll, Tyler Mathis, 10 Ethan Roberts, Ricardo Griffin, and Scott Ory; and 11 WHEREAS, the Barbe High School Buccaneers baseball team is most deserving of 12 recognition for their outstanding performance this season. THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Senate of the Legislature of Louisiana 13 14 does hereby commend and congratulate the Barbe High School baseball team of Lake 15 Charles on winning the Louisiana High School Athletic Association 2023 Class 5A state 16 championship. BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that a copy of this Resolution be transmitted to 17 18 Principal Patrick Fontenot of Barbe High School.

The original instrument and the following digest, which constitutes no part of the legislative instrument, were prepared by Dawn Romero Watson.

DIGEST 2023 Regular Session

SR 113 Original

Abraham

Commends and congratulates the Barbe High School baseball team on winning the Louisiana High School Athletic Association 2023 Class 5A state championship.