#### SENATE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION NO. 51

### BY SENATORS PEACOCK, MILLIGAN, ROBERT MILLS AND TARVER AND REPRESENTATIVES COX, CREWS, GLOVER, HORTON, JEFFERSON, JENKINS, MCMAHEN, PHELPS, PRESSLY AND SEABAUGH

#### A CONCURRENT RESOLUTION

To commend LSU Health Shreveport School of Medicine on the celebration of its fiftieth anniversary.

WHEREAS the Louisiana Legislature recognizes the immense impact of the creation of the LSU Health Shreveport School of Medicine which occurred on June 7, 1965, at 4:30 p.m. when Governor John McKeithen signed the act into law establishing a branch of the Louisiana State University School of Medicine in Shreveport; and

WHEREAS, local business leaders and community physicians fought tirelessly to accomplish the goal of locating a medical school in Shreveport, understanding the important role a medical school would play in the health and economy of the community and state; and

WHEREAS, a local doctor, Dr. Joe E. Holoubek, chaired a medical school study committee, leading to what would become a fifteen-year effort, 1950-1965, to overcome political opposition to the establishment of a medical school in Shreveport; and

WHEREAS, the first class of thirty-two medical students were selected from among five hundred applicants and started class in 1969 at the VA Medical Center; and

WHEREAS, construction funding was received in 1970 with groundbreaking for a medical school occurring in 1971; and

WHEREAS, the first class of the Shreveport medical school graduated in 1973 and have practiced throughout Louisiana and beyond with distinction; and

WHEREAS, the first class of Shreveport medical school graduates are now celebrating the fiftieth anniversary of their medical school graduation, having served as extraordinary representatives of the LSU Health Shreveport School of Medicine, LSU, and the state; and

WHEREAS, the LSU Health Shreveport School of Medicine has continually increased the class size, having gone from thirty-two initial students to a current class size of one hundred fifty; and

#### **SCR NO. 51**

#### ENROLLED

WHEREAS, the LSU Health Shreveport School of Medicine has now conferred four thousand eight hundred fifty medical degrees since its inception with each physician contributing an average of two million dollars to the economy of their practice location; and

WHEREAS, the LSU Health Shreveport School of Medicine ranks in the top fifteen percent in the nation in their graduates practicing in-state, yielding a vital contribution to the health of Louisiana citizens; and

WHEREAS, the LSU Health Shreveport School of Medicine ranks in the top eight percent in the nation of graduates practicing in underserved areas and in the top eighteen percent in the nation for their graduates practicing in rural areas demonstrating the school's impact in meeting the needs of countless citizens with limited access to healthcare; and

WHEREAS, the Louisiana Legislature acknowledges the importance and impact of fifty years of educating physicians in north Louisiana and commends those whose vision made the establishment of a medical school in Shreveport a reality; and

WHEREAS, the Louisiana Legislature thanks those first thirty-two students who took a leap of faith by attending the new school of medicine in Shreveport, resulting in a long and proud legacy of outstanding physicians who have admirably and successfully served our state, region, and nation.

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Legislature of Louisiana does hereby commend LSU Health Shreveport School of Medicine on the celebration of its fiftieth anniversary.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that a copy of this Resolution be transmitted to the LSU Health Shreveport School of Medicine.

## PRESIDENT OF THE SENATE

# SPEAKER OF THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES