SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 164

BY SENATOR BARROW

A RESOLUTION

To recognize Friday, April 28, 2023, as Workers' Memorial Day in recognition of workers killed, injured, and disabled on the job.

WHEREAS, April 28th was declared Workers' Memorial Day more than thirty years ago when the Occupational Safety and Health Act went into effect promising every worker the right to a safe job; and

WHEREAS, Louisiana recognizes her citizens as her most valuable resource, and Louisiana workers have been recognized as some of the most productive workers in America; and

WHEREAS, the COVID-19 pandemic highlighted the inextricable link between workplace safety and health and our communities; and

WHEREAS, employment unions and other allies continue to demand and win job protections from this highly contagious virus and other debilitating illnesses by demanding access to ventilation, respirators, and other measures that protect workers from contracting illnesses at work; and

WHEREAS, every year, thousands of American workers die as the result of workplace injuries and occupational diseases, and millions of workers are injured, permanently disabled, or made ill on the job; and

WHEREAS, concerned Americans are determined to decrease such tragedies, in part, by observing Workers' Memorial Day on Friday, April 28, 2023, as a day to remember these victims of workplace injuries and occupational diseases, to renew efforts to seek stronger safety and health protections, better standards and enforcement, and fair and just compensation, and to rededicate themselves to improving safety and health in every American workplace.

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Senate of the Legislature of Louisiana does hereby recognize Friday, April 28, 2023, as Workers' Memorial Day in recognition of workers killed, injured, and disabled on the job.

SR NO. 164

ENROLLED

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that a copy of this Resolution be transmitted to the president of the Louisiana American Federation of Labor and Congress of Industrial Organizations (AFL-CIO).

PRESIDENT OF THE SENATE