## **RÉSUMÉ DIGEST**

## ACT 152 (SB 218)

## **2023 Regular Session**

Womack

<u>Existing law</u> creates the State Plumbing Board of Louisiana (board) to consist of nine members as follows:

- (1) One registered engineer.
- (2) One plumbing inspector.
- (3) Three master plumbers.
- (4) Three journeyman plumbers.
- (5) One tradesman plumber.

New law retains existing law, renames the "Louisiana State Board of Health" to the "Louisiana Department of Health", and requires its appointees to be licensed by the board.

<u>Existing law</u> requires the board to adopt tests of qualifications to be possessed by for any person engaged in the duties of a tradesman or master plumber.

<u>New law</u> retains <u>existing law</u> and removes the board's option to accept an affidavit from an individual certifying his work experience in the field of plumbing.

Existing law prohibits a natural person from engaging in the work of a journeyman plumber unless he possesses a license or renewal thereof issued by the board.

<u>Prior law</u> allowed a journeyman plumber to engage in the art of plumbing when he is under the supervision of a licensed master plumber.

<u>New law</u> permits a journeyman plumber to engage in the art of plumbing when he is under the employment of a licensed master plumber.

New law provides that a journeyman plumber that repaired plumbing without the supervision of a master plumber prior to January 1, 2024, may continue to operate in such a manner for a period of five years, and shall within that five-year period pass the master plumber examination to obtain a master plumber license.

Existing law permits apprentices to engage in the art of plumbing but requires the apprentice to be under the direct, constant on-the-job supervision of a licensed journeyman plumber.

Existing law also defines "direct, constant on-the-job supervision". New law retains existing law.

Existing law provides that in order to obtain a tradesman plumber limited license, a person must work at least 4,000 hours at the manual labor of plumbing under the direct, constant on-the-job supervision of a licensed journeyman or master plumber.

<u>New law</u> retains <u>existing law</u> and clarifies that the 4,000 hour requirement applies to unindentured apprentices. <u>New law</u> adds that indentured apprentices must complete at least 3,000 hours at the manual labor of plumbing under the direct, constant on-the-job supervision of a licensed journeyman or master plumber to obtain a tradesman plumber limited license.

New law defines "apprentice gas fitter".

Existing law provides that no master plumber license will be issued, renewed, or revived until the applicant has provided proof acceptable to the board that insurance has been issued to the employing entity by an insurer authorized to do business in this state.

New law retains existing law and makes existing law applicable to master natural gas fitter licenses.

<u>Exiting law</u> authorizes the board to require master plumbers and master natural gas fitters to provide proof of comprehensive general liability and property damage insurance before issuing, renewing, or reviving an applicant's license.

New law retains existing law and raises the minimum aggregate amount of comprehensive general liability and property damage insurance from \$100,000 to \$500,000.

Effective August 1, 2023.

(Amends R.S. 37:1361(B) (intro para) and (B)(1), 1366(C), 1367(A)(2), 1368(A)(1)(b), 1377(C), and 1380(A) and (B)(3))