RESUME DIGEST

ACT 46 (SB 115) 2023 Regular Session Boudreaux
Prior law (R.S. 29:288) provided for spouses and children of certain veterans who were
killed in action, died during active service, died as a result of a service-connected disability,
who are missing in action, or who are prisoners of war to receive a tuition and fee waiver at
public postsecondary institutions.

New law allows the waiver to be granted to the spouses and children of deceased veterans
who, prior to death, were rated 90 to 100% disabled or determined to be unemployable as a

result of a service-connected disability.

Prior law limited the waiver to veterans who had resided in Louisiana for at least 12 months
prior to entrance into the service.

New law also allows the tuition and fee waiver to be granted to spouses or children of certain
veterans who had been residents of Louisiana for at least 24 months prior to death.

Existing law further allows children of certain living disabled veterans to receive a tuition
and fee waiver.

New law makes technical amendments relative to placement of provisions in existing law.

Existing law (R.S. 17:1686) provides for a tuition waiver for certain children of deceased
veterans who died as a result of injuries sustained in the course of duty.

New law prohibits postsecondary education institutions from providing tuition waivers to
students under both provisions of law.

New law requires the Louisiana Workforce Commission to consult with the department of
veterans affairs to create and distribute a veteran's benefits and services poster.

New law provides for the poster to include information regarding, at a minimum, the
following services available to veterans:

(1) Contact and website information for the department of veterans affairs and its
services offered to veterans.

(2) Contact information for the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs Veterans Crisis
Line.

3) Mental health and substance abuse prevention resources.

4) Veteran homelessness prevention resources.

(5) Veteran disability compensation and pension claims filing assistance.

(6) Educational, workforce, and training resources.

(7 Louisiana state property and military retiree pay tax exemptions available to veterans.
() State veteran home and cemetery benefits.

New law requires every employer in the state with more than 50 full-time equivalent
employees to display the poster in a conspicuous place accessible to employees in the
workplace.

Effective June 1, 2023.

(Amends R.S. 29:288; adds R.S. 17:1686(D) and R.S. 29:771.1)



