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This measure may increase annual expenditures for the Commission.

Based on information from the Louisiana Department of Public Safety (DPS), including the Office of State Fire Marshal:

This bill is projected to increase Commission expenditures by $2,283 in Fiscal Year 2025 for software updates, and
potentially up to $1,480 annually for mailing denial letters to applicants, with the actual amount dependent on the number of
letters mailed. Funding from the state general fund may be required to cover these additional expenditures, according to
officials.

Software Update: The Commission’s Information Management System software would need to be updated to enable
installers and transporters to upload documents required by this bill. This upgrade is expected to occur in Fiscal Year 2025 at
a one-time cost of $2,283 for labor, with DPS reimbursing the Office of Technology Services for these costs.

Denial Letters: This bill is expected to impact 320 licensees. The Commission typically sends 12 denial letters annually to
applicants who fail to submit required information, each sent by certified mail at a cost of $4.40 per letter. This number is
expected to increase due to applicants not being familiar with the new requirements of this bill. The exact cost of the
increased mailings is currently unknown, as it will vary with the actual number of mailings per year. The maximum potential
impact of this bill is $1,480 annually, assuming denial letters are sent to all 320 applicants (the actual number of letters is
expected to be lower).

Purpose of Bill: This bill requires manufactured housing retailers, developers, installers, and transporters to provide the
Louisiana Manufactured Housing Commission (Commission) with a surety bond or an irrevocable letter of credit annually with
their license application. In addition, this bill increases the net worth requirement for retailers and developers applying for an
original license.

There is no anticipated direct material effect on governmental revenues as a result of this measure.
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