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Proposed legislation extends the sunset on regulations pertaining to the therapeutic use of marijuana found in R.S. 40:1046
for an additional 5 years and 6 months, from January 1, 2025 to July 1, 2030. Changes terminology from the Southern
University Agricultural Center and the Louisiana State University Agricultural Center being licensed to produce marijuana for
therapeutic use, to “authorized” and permitted. Changes the terminology regarding the contractors selected by the
universities would become a “license” from the current “permit”. Provides for a change in the entity required to pay the
seven percent fee on gross sales paid from “licensed facility or permitted contractor” to “licensed contractor”.

There is no anticipated direct material effect on current governmental expenditures as a result of this measure. The
proposed legislation will extend provisions in current law for an additional 5 years and 6 months without significant changes
to the parameters of the regulatory functions.

The Louisiana Department of Health (LDH) reports a $600 implementation cost in FY 25 to create and issue new license
documents for the two licensed contractors. This amount is estimated to lower to $100 for the ensuing fiscal years totaling
$1000 over the next five fiscal years. The department should be able to absorb these costs within its existing budget using
SGR from the annual $100,000 license fees or from its operational SGF.

There is no anticipated direct material effect on current governmental revenues as a result of this measure. The extension of
the sunset provisions will allow revenue collections established in present law to continue to the new sunset terminating at
the end of FY 29. Under present law, the LA Department of Health (LDH) assesses a $100,000 license fee on contractors
permitted for medical marijuana production along with a $10,000 application fee. Also based on current law, the Department
of Revenue will continue to collect the 7% fee on gross sales of therapeutic marijuana by the permitted contractors; the
proceeds of which are deposited into the Disability Services Fund. Any contractual obligations owed to the LSU or Southern
Agricultural Centers by the licensed producers would continue according to the terms of their respective agreements.
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