SLS 24RS-723

ORIGINAL

2024 Regular Session

SENATE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION NO. 16

BY SENATOR WHEAT

COMMENDATIONS. Commends the Ponchatoula High School boys basketball team on winning the Louisiana High School Athletic Association Division I (Non-Select) State Basketball Championship for a second consecutive year.

1	A CONCURRENT RESOLUTION
2	To commend the Ponchatoula High School boys basketball team on winning the Louisiana
3	High School Athletic Association (LHSAA) Division I (Non-Select) State Basketball
4	Championship for a second consecutive year.
5	WHEREAS, the Ponchatoula High School Green Wave Boys Basketball Team
6	embarked on a challenging journey defending their Division I state championship title; and
7	WHEREAS, after demonstrating exceptional skill, determination, and sportsmanship
8	throughout the season, Ponchatoula entered LHSAA Boys' March Madness tournament as
9	the No. 2 seed in the Division I (Non-Select) bracket; and
10	WHEREAS, Ponchatoula faced many formidable opponents through their rounds and
11	in the finals faced the No. 5 seed Natchitoches Central High School Chiefs Boys Basketball
12	Team, a program renowned for its pedigree and competitiveness; and
13	WHEREAS, the Division I (Non-Select) state title game witnessed a remarkable
14	display of talent and resilience from both teams, with Ponchatoula securing a well-deserved
15	victory with a final score of 75-60; and
16	WHEREAS, the talent and determination of Ponchatoula High School players was
17	evident in their performance on the court, particularly highlighted by a dominant second half
18	display led by Taj Jackson, Allen Graves, Jeremiah Lewis, and Cory Jackson; and

SLS 24RS-723

1	WHEREAS, highlights of the final game include Taj Jackson's outstanding
2	contribution of 24 points and the exemplary performance of Allen Graves, earning Graves
3	the title of Most Outstanding Player with 19 points, 20 rebounds, and eight blocks; and
4	WHEREAS, under the exceptional leadership of Head Coach Thomas Taylor and
5	trusted assistant coaches Daniel Dunn, Melvin Huland, Garry Polk and Uland Thorn, the
6	Ponchatoula High School's Boys Basketball Team achieved its goal of back-to-back state
7	championships; and
8	WHEREAS, this year's championship team includes Jeremial Lewis, Noah Ferina,
9	Cory Jackson Jr., Taj Jackson, C.J. Braziel, Cody Al-Naziat, Allen Graves, Jarvis Labee,
10	Todd Bode, Ashton Campbell, Josef Kelly, Chaleb Seaberry, Reese Elzy, Tristan Jackson,
11	Kirk Palmer, Reese Thorn, and Ethan Peltier; and
12	WHEREAS, the entire team exhibited exceptional teamwork, resilience, and
13	dedication throughout the season, overcoming challenges and demonstrating the true spirit
14	of sportsmanship and camaraderie; and
15	WHEREAS, Ponchatoula High School's historic achievement of winning consecutive
16	state championships marks a significant milestone in the school's athletic legacy,
17	symbolizing the dedication, talent, and hard work of its players, coaching staff, school
18	administration, and supporters.
19	THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Legislature of Louisiana does hereby
20	commend the Ponchatoula High School boys basketball team for their outstanding
21	performance and remarkable achievement in winning the Louisiana High School Athletic
22	Association Division I (Non-Select) State Basketball Championship for a second consecutive
23	year.
24	BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that a copy of this Resolution be transmitted to
25	Coach Thomas Taylor at Ponchatoula High School.

The original instrument and the following digest, which constitutes no part of the legislative instrument, were prepared by Dawn Romero Watson.

SCR 16 Original

DIGEST 2024 Regular Session

Wheat

Commends Ponchatoula High School boys basketball team on winning its second consecutive state championship.