BY SENATOR WHEAT

A CONCURRENT RESOLUTION

To commend the Ponchatoula High School boys basketball team on winning the Louisiana High School Athletic Association (LHSAA) Division I (Non-Select) State Basketball Championship for a second consecutive year.

WHEREAS, the Ponchatoula High School Green Wave Boys Basketball Team embarked on a challenging journey defending their Division I state championship title; and

WHEREAS, after demonstrating exceptional skill, determination, and sportsmanship throughout the season, Ponchatoula entered LHSAA Boys' March Madness tournament as the No. 2 seed in the Division I (Non-Select) bracket; and

WHEREAS, Ponchatoula faced many formidable opponents through their rounds and in the finals faced the No. 5 seed Natchitoches Central High School Chiefs Boys Basketball Team, a program renowned for its pedigree and competitiveness; and

WHEREAS, the Division I (Non-Select) state title game witnessed a remarkable display of talent and resilience from both teams, with Ponchatoula securing a well-deserved victory with a final score of 75-60; and

WHEREAS, the talent and determination of Ponchatoula High School players was evident in their performance on the court, particularly highlighted by a dominant second half display led by Taj Jackson, Allen Graves, Jeremiah Lewis, and Cory Jackson; and

WHEREAS, highlights of the final game include Taj Jackson's outstanding contribution of 24 points and the exemplary performance of Allen Graves, earning Graves the title of Most Outstanding Player with 19 points, 20 rebounds, and eight blocks; and

WHEREAS, under the exceptional leadership of Head Coach Thomas Taylor and trusted assistant coaches Daniel Dunn, Melvin Huland, Garry Polk and Uland Thorn, the Ponchatoula High School's Boys Basketball Team achieved its goal of back-to-back state championships; and

WHEREAS, this year's championship team includes Jeremiah Lewis, Noah Ferina, Cory Jackson Jr., Taj Jackson, C.J. Braziel, Cody Al-Naziat, Allen Graves, Jarvis Labee, Todd Bode, Ashton Campbell, Josef Kelly, Chaleb Seaberry, Reese Elzy, Tristan Jackson,

SCR NO. 16 ENROLLED

Kirk Palmer, Reese Thorn, and Ethan Peltier; and

WHEREAS, the entire team exhibited exceptional teamwork, resilience, and dedication throughout the season, overcoming challenges and demonstrating the true spirit of sportsmanship and camaraderie; and

WHEREAS, Ponchatoula High School's historic achievement of winning consecutive state championships marks a significant milestone in the school's athletic legacy, symbolizing the dedication, talent, and hard work of its players, coaching staff, school administration, and supporters.

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Legislature of Louisiana does hereby commend the Ponchatoula High School boys basketball team for their outstanding performance and remarkable achievement in winning the Louisiana High School Athletic Association Division I (Non-Select) State Basketball Championship for a second consecutive year.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that a copy of this Resolution be transmitted to Coach Thomas Taylor at Ponchatoula High School.

PRESIDENT OF THE SENATE

SPEAKER OF THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES