The original instrument and the following digest, which constitutes no part of the legislative instrument, were prepared by James Benton.

DIGEST 2025 Regular Session

Carter

Present law (R.S. 33:2740.27) provides for the creation of the Algiers Development District.

<u>Present law</u> provides that the board of commissioners for the Algiers Development District shall be composed of seven members. The board shall be composed as follows:

- (1) The two state representatives who represent the 15th ward of Orleans Parish, or their designees.
- (2) The two state senators who represent the 15th ward of Orleans Parish, or their designees.
- (3) The city council member who represents the 15th ward of Orleans Parish, or his designee.
- (4) The mayor of the city of New Orleans, or his designee.
- (5) The assessor for the 15th ward of Orleans Parish, or his designee.

<u>Proposed law</u> provides that the board of the Algiers Development District shall be composed as follows:

- (1) The two state representatives who represent the 15th ward of Orleans Parish, or their designees.
- (2) The state senator who represents the 15th ward of Orleans Parish, or his designee.
- (3) The city council member who represents the 15th ward of Orleans Parish, or his designee.
- (4) The mayor of the city of New Orleans, or his designee.
- (5) The assessor for the 15th ward of Orleans Parish, or his designee.
- (6) The representative who represents the 2nd congressional district of Louisiana of the U.S. House of Representatives, or his designee.

Effective August 1, 2025.

SB 204 Original

(Amends R.S. 33:2740.27(D)(1)(b); adds R.S. 33:2740.27(D)(1)(f))