BY SENATOR KLEINPETER

A RESOLUTION

To commend The Falcons swamp-pop band for being inducted into the Louisiana Music Hall of Fame.

WHEREAS, The Falcons, a 1950s swamp-pop group from the Pointe Coupee area, was inducted into the Louisiana Music Hall of Fame on March 25, 2024, joining Mahalia Jackson, Louis Armstrong, and Randy Newman, among many other distinguished artists; and

WHEREAS, Donald "Duck" Miletello, C.J. Miletello, Nunzio "Nolan" Miletello, Wilson Angelle, Cecil Bizette, Frankie Hillyard, Glynn Delatte, Leroy "Rocky" Jarreau, Frank Wayne Zito, and Everett Brady are credited with being the original members of The Falcons; and

WHEREAS, the group is named after the senior Miletello's love for the Ford Falcon, the iconic American car of the 1950s and 1960s; and

WHEREAS, Salvadore "Sam" Miletello served as the band's manager and booking agent; and

WHEREAS, Donald "Duck" Miletello, C.J. Miletello, Cecil Bizette, Frankie Hillyard, Glynn Delatte, Leroy "Rocky" Jarreau, and Everett Brady are the group's surviving members who were in attendance to accept the award on behalf of the members who have since passed away; and

WHEREAS, the group that started out playing beat-up instruments from school became fan favorites while providing sixty years of timeless music; and

WHEREAS, The Falcons landed its first paid gig at a wedding in 1957; and

WHEREAS, The Falcons often traveled to Texas, Arkansas, Mississippi, and Alabama, playing backup for Dale & Grace, who later became the most recognized name in the R&B subgenre of swamp-pop, and even played some of the same venues as Elvis Presley, the Boogie Kings, and Buddy Guy; and

SR NO. 29 ENROLLED

WHEREAS, music is one of Louisiana's greatest resources; and

WHEREAS, The Falcons recorded seven albums along with six forty-five singles;

and

WHEREAS, some of The Falcons' music was recorded at Cosimo Matassa's

recording studio in New Orleans, and Joseph Denton "J.D." Miller's studio in Crowley,

Louisiana; and

WHEREAS, Louisiana is the birthplace of many of the world's unique musical styles,

including jazz, blues, zydeco, swamp-pop, rock and roll, gospel, country, bounce, rhythm

and blues, and Cajun music; and

WHEREAS, the Falcons' immortalization in the Louisiana Music Hall of Fame

comes decades after the band stopped playing together, but being inducted into the fraternity

of Louisiana musicians cements The Falcons as an official part of this state's rich music

history.

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Senate of the Legislature of Louisiana

does hereby commend The Falcons swamp-pop band for being inducted into the Louisiana

Music Hall of Fame, and does hereby extend sincere well wishes to its members.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that a copy of this Resolution be transmitted to Leroy

"Rocky" Jarreau, C.J. Miletello, Cecil Bizette, Frankie Hillyard, Glynn Delatte, Everett

Brady, and Donald "Duck" Miletello.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that a copy of this Resolution be transmitted to the

families of Nunzio "Nolan" Miletello, Wilson Angelle, Frank Wayne Zito, and Salvadore

"Sam" Miletello.

PRESIDENT OF THE SENATE

Page 2 of 2